We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but needs updating/ won't Return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mentone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast
624 Road 948, Mentone, AL 35984   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Mentone B&B and Inns
Ozone Park, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quaint but needs updating/ won't Return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My Hubby & I stayed here for 2 nights last year (fall). It's quaint, off the road, quiet (as long as you are the only Guests) The Cabin is divided into 4 rooms & when all are full, there is no privacy.It does have a certain charm, being in the woods. No view at all from Cabin, except woods. If you walk down a meandering path, however, you will enjoy a Great view! We had to stumble upon it ourselves. The room was dingy, dark, & VERY outdated with a small TV mounted on the wall (an old style TV) the management has a "Get Together, Game Cottage though, with a small Video Library (needs updating) & games & publications available for Guests to use. It also had a refridge, with juice & granola bars offered. Back to the Room, Needs updating & freshening up. Dull. The bathroom was ok but had a note taped to toilet, regarding method of flushing. Just get it Fixed!!!
The Breakfast was very nice & well cooked. Probably the best feature of the stay & the Innkeeper was very pleasant.
Economic conditions are tough & in order to compete with other lodging venues in the area, a lot of work needs to be done here. Too expensive for what is offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Such a beautiful setting. Wake up to the birds singing and the sound of the magnificent water fall. (Which is a must see) This is a true retreat to peace and quiet. The best breakfast around. And, yes, the French Toast is delish!! My husband just wanted to spend the day on the back porch reading. Mentone is a lovely town full of the most pleasant people. Walk around and enjoy all the little shops and restaurants. A must visit is J Spencer and Miracle Pottery. LOVE!!! We stayed in the "Deer Room".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thank you Sarah for another great week-end at Mountain Laurel. You know how much we truly love getting away to Mentone. Your place is one of the greatest pleasures we get in traveling. It is so peaceful and everything is just PERFECT. There's nothing that can be said about the place but positive things. The rooms, the food, the location, the genuine friendship and of course Sammie. We love everything about Mountain Laurel Bed and Breakfast. See you soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms and each one is different, but always spotless. We like the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room was cozy and clean. The food was excellent, especially the french toast. My favorite feature was the proximity to DeSoto Falls--a ten minute hike from the room and you're at the overlook.

It's just a short drive into Mentone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Mountain Laurel Inn in Mentone, AL. We stayed in the Deer room, it was spotless and comfortable. The owner is so gracious and did I mention the delicious breakfasts? Mountain Laurel is situated in the mountains near Desota State Park. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing experience with the best food around, this is where you should go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently visited Mentone and spent three nights at the Mount Laurel Inn B & B. We chose this B & B based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed in the "Deer Room". The Inn is actually located several miles from downtown Mentone at the end of a gravel road in the middle of the woods near Desoto State Park. The room was small but nicely appointed and very clean. There was a small flat screen TV with DVD player. Sarah, the owner, was gracious and very helpful, providing information regarding the area attractions and restaurants. We had a lovely breakfast each morning and, best of all, she briought hot coffee to the porch of each room at 7:00 AM. Wonderful to be able to have coffee in your room without having to leave each morning! There was a common building with a sitting area with snacks and refrigerator stocked with fruit drinks. Numerous DVDs were available there to watch or take back to your room. If you are looking for a quiet, rustic retreat in a beautiful part of Alabama, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was actually a small suite; spotless, well equipped with a small kitchenette and all the necessities. Idyllic setting with a quiet that made you worry your ears had left you. The owner is a fixture in the community and can direct you to the best eating spots in the area. Her signature decadent french toast is listed on the 100 dishes you must eat before you die.... ask about it when you make your reservations. It isn't always on the menu but good times and great location is ALWAYS on the plate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 624 Road 948, Mentone, AL 35984
Location: United States > Alabama > Mentone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mentone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Laurel Inn B&B is located in Mentone, AL on a bluff below DeSoto Falls. Guests enjoy the peace and quiet as well as the trails and the porches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list