We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different menu but the food was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windwood Farms Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Windwood Farms Restaurant
4277 Hwy 117, Mentone, AL
256-634-0055
Improve this listing
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Different menu but the food was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Mentone for a week-end respite from the real world. We decided to give the Windwood Farms a try since they moved back from the hotel. It was a different menu but the food and service were great. My wife had the Reuben sandwich and I had the Bison Burger. Both were well prepared. Note: If you don't like game meat, the bison burger may not be a good choice. It is a different taste from beef. The Reuben, however, would be fantastic to anyone . Glad they are back in business!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ozone Park, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

These folks are wasting a great location & building as they are utilizing it very POORLY!
Mentone is in dire need of Good eating establishments & this one is awful. We dined here about 5 yrs ago & it was a cute little spot with a Boho feel & a decent Menu. Now it is a restructured building that serves VERY Mediocre food. What happened? The hours of operation are absurd as well. It's almost like they don't want to make $!!! Our meal was lack-luster & we will not return unless serious changes occur. Right now, better than McDonalds but not much. A real shame.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Back in the old farm house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

After a brief stay as the restaurant at the Mentone Inn, the Windwood crew is back at the old farm house about 5 miles east of down town. Open Thursday through Sunday 11AM to 7PM, the menu has change slightly, but everything I've ever had there has been good. Luxury dining? In an old farm house, of course not. Food quality like you'd find in fancy restaurants in major cities? Absolutely!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Windwood has moved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Below you can see what I think of the restaurant and its food. A+ What you need to know is the chef and wait staff director are now a the Mentone Springs Hotel in downtown Mentone (the big old hotel looking building on the north west corner at the caution light). Food is still great--as is the service. Menu has changed slightly. Plently of parking behind the building (and a no steps entrance on that side as well). Still worth a long trip to eat there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently the Best food in and around Mentone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Having a vacation home in Mentone I am in the area more often than the typical visitor. Over the past 2-3 years I have probably tried every place you can sit down for a meal in the area. And there are many good places to eat, but this one is my absolute favorite. It has never mattered what I ate, burgers, bar-b-que, chicken, steak...it's all good. And if you should be lucky enough to eat there on a day that cheese grits are one of the sides, don't miss them. Service is first rate and the time it takes your food to arrive is very reasonable considering it isn't cooked until you order. I have actually driven up to Mentone just to have lunch at Windwood (a round trip of over 100 miles) even when I was unable to stay a few days at the cabin. It's that good!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windwood Farms Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windwood Farms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.