We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jesse's Restaurant

Jesse's Restaurant
14770 Oak Street, Magnolia Springs, AL 36555
+1 251-965-3827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 49
Description: Jesse's is a unique and eclectic dining experience located in the quaint village of Magnolia Springs. Our main dining room is located where the Post office was housed in the late 1800's. Jesse's..."The Steakhouse Destination" for our guest who appreciate dry and wet aged steaks, fresh local seafood and signature entrees from our Executive Chef Jeremiah Matthews. Jesse's has an extensive wine menu with over 100 different wines to choose from and signature cocktails. The new owners, Steve and Angie Coltharp, have worked with their Chef to ensure every item is not only made in house, but is of the highest quality ingredients. Jesse's has been listed by several periodicals: Southern Living, Coastal Living, Mobile Bay Monthly, and most recently Coastal Alabama. Jesse's is casual fine dining at it's best and we are kid friendly. Located 20 minutes from Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach just off of highway 98 and highway 49. Call to make reservations or you can make them on line through Urban Spoon.
Fairhope, AL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recent Improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

We have been going to Jesse's off and on for 10 plus years. Our experience was that the quality was erratic -most times very good but not always. Our most recent visit revealed a redecorated main dining room and an expanded menu that includes premium wet and dry-aged beef. Many of the previous seafood offering are still on the menu with the addition of at least one fish not commonly served in Lower Alabama.
We had the quail and calamari appetizers followed by diver scallops, venison, and shrimp and grits. The venison was noteworthy and the cheese grits are about as cheesy as can be. Overall everything was fine. Service has always been on the slow side for the main entree' but the drinks are interesting and it doesn't hurt to talk to your companions.
Although we have not been there for lunch recently, it is always excellent.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    17
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Hidden Jem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

Excellent food and people, great service and beautiful atmosphere.Be sure to visit this wonderful restaurant

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top quality food an service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

this is a white table cloth restaurant where people who enjoy the entire dining experience go. If we are feeling particularly decadent, we will go for lunch. The "Cold Hole" bar is great for a burger and beer. Dinner items have never disappointed either. We usually get whatever is on special. It is out there, in the country but well worth the 30 minuter drive from Fairhope. I assume the "Bar Scene" block on this web site refers to a singles scene, which here, would be non-existent. The bar itself is a very comfortable place, if you would like a less formal dining experiece.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munfordville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful town with a good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

A large restaurant that manages to feel cozy. We ate lunch in the bar at a small table dressed with linens. A friendly and helpful waitress brought our wine and suggested the shrimp and grits which my husband ordered. I decided to combine a salad with a crab cake. Both were delicious. The meal with wine was approximately sixty dollars with a generous tip.
The small town is lovely with live oak and magnolia lined streets. Take some time for the short River walk.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Day Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Nestled in the heart of a quite Magnolia Springs, this restaurant was the perfect place for my fiance and I to spend Thanksgiving dinner. Not too far from mobile of Pensacola, Jesse's is a great location worth the drive. As we waited for our reservation time, we were directed to a beautiful short nature trail that took us to the small river that flows by town.

The restaurant itself had pleasant decor and the room where we ate had a great view of the surrounding woods and town. Our servers were great and very accommodating.

The buffet was wonderful. There were the wonderful Thanksgiving favorites like turkey, pork tenderloin, steamed vegetables, creamed spinach. I was amazed at the southern twist that they added to the meal with some delicious fried brussel sprouts, a terrific pecan sweet potato dish with a mind blowing bourbon sauce, a bacon and oyster bread pudding, and the best shrimp and grits that I have ever tasted.

Only way this would have been better is if we could have had our family's with us, for there were certainly several large families there.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesse's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jesse's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesse's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.