We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnolia Sprins, Alabama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesse's Restaurant

Jesse's Restaurant
14770 Oak Street, Magnolia Springs, AL 36555
+1 251-965-3827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 49
Description: Jesse's is a unique and eclectic dining experience located in the quaint village of Magnolia Springs. Our main dining room is located where the Post office was housed in the late 1800's. Jesse's..."The Steakhouse Destination" for our guest who appreciate dry and wet aged steaks, fresh local seafood and signature entrees from our Executive Chef Jeremiah Matthews. Jesse's has an extensive wine menu with over 100 different wines to choose from and signature cocktails. The new owners, Steve and Angie Coltharp, have worked with their Chef to ensure every item is not only made in house, but is of the highest quality ingredients. Jesse's has been listed by several periodicals: Southern Living, Coastal Living, Mobile Bay Monthly, and most recently Coastal Alabama. Jesse's is casual fine dining at it's best and we are kid friendly. Located 20 minutes from Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach just off of highway 98 and highway 49. Call to make reservations or you can make them on line through Urban Spoon.
Lillian, Alabama
1 review
“Magnolia Sprins, Alabama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is quiant, the food is great , the market attached is awesome! Is is a city that still gets some mail by boat! Near Fairhope, Alabama

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Jesse's Restaurant is a very good restaurant located in a quaint spot in Magnolia Springs. Has a full bar and a wide selection of wines. The menu is very broad offering a wide selection of seafood, steaks, lamb and other good Southern food. We had Shrimp & Grits and a Texas Steak that were very good. The Gumbo is not the best we have had. Wait staff worked hard at pleasing. Would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVELAND
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We're back in the area and remembered this from 3 years ago. The chef is superb, menu at noon was well priced and absolutely flawless. Server was attentive, very knowledgeable and unobtrusive. First rate menu, had the Mahi Fish Po Boy and were NOT disappointed. A little secret tucked back in the village of Magnolia Springs. We'll be back before leaving the area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gulf Shores dining highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had heard from acquaintances about Jesse's and decided to check it for lunch during a recent stay in Gulf Shores. Simply put, this is a must for a fabulous dining experience. We arrived just as they were opening at 11 am - a bit early but we had skipped breakfast - and were promptly engaged in a delightful conversation with the staff regarding the historic building, the renovations, and the chef's credentials. We decided to sit in the bar area (Cold Hole) at the common table (long bench with stools on both sides which separates the bar from the tables). There is an additional room with tables just beyond this as well. We decided to sample a variety of appetizers - they were all divine! The oysters Lydia were probably our favorite - oysters in a smoked gouda sauce with bacon - wonderfully rich and we scraped the bowl clean. However, the crab cakes came in a close second. The fried crab claws were a new experience for us - another great choice. We also tried their fried green tomatoes to see if they could be made into something more than battered slices of sour green tomatoes - they were sweet, tender and with the lightest batter - oh, and they come with sauteed crabmeat on top! The setting is charming and the service impeccable. One of the owners came by twice to chat and it's clear they are putting every effort to make dining here a memorable experience. The prices run higher than other restaurants but it's worth every penny - this is our first choice for the Gulf Shores area even if it does require a bit of a drive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“shame on you jessie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

im alocal and have eaten here for many years. had a really good new years eve dinner last night. tabel was ready for my reservation time. server was very good. food just kept the hits coming... my wife and i having the best time ringing in the new year. then came our bill. the new years eve special $65.00 per person. the only menu given out was this nice special with no price on it. not to worry i said to my self. well two drinks each and dinner for each later. the bill came out $168.99 shame,shame,shame on you jessie...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesse's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jesse's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesse's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.