We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Taste of Sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistle Stop Sweet Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whistle Stop Sweet Shop
104 Main Street, Madison, AL 35758
256-325-8838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 151 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“For a Taste of Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very good treats from a local shop. Many selections available along with many items that can be personalized. A quaint little shop of madison that should not be missed!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummylicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I love the shop, love the sweets, love the service and the location. Very nice spot on Historic Madison, AL

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing candy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

So worth every penny, not over prices like other local candy places and as good as my moms homemade which is hard to compete with!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Gelato in Historic Madison!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This small sweet shop opened in November 2012. It is across the street from the Main Street Cafe in the Madison Historic District. It is aptly named the Whistle Stop, as the Madison Station train depot was across the street, where the town of Madison began.

My wife and I stopped in on a Thursday afternoon. I ordered a small strawberry gelato, and she selected a small chocolate gelato. We sat inside and ate it at a table by one of their display windows, looking across toward Veteran's Park, and Madison's gazebo. In warmer weather they'll put tables & chairs out on the sidewalk.

Gelato is Italian ice cream. It is a little denser than American ice cream, so it doesn't take as much to fill you up.

My strawberry gelato was very good, and my wife's chocolate was very excellent. The gelato is made for them by an Italian family. I think it is better than what Sam & Greg's makes in Huntsville.

Speaking of better, if you have lunch across the street, or at the nearby Mexican place, skip dessert there and walk over here for a cup of gelato instead!

Whistle Stop makes their "homemade" fudge there in the shop daily. We bought a half pound of their Chocolate Pecan fudge to take home. (I liked it considerably better than the chocolate fudge we got at Morgan Price Candy Company in Decatur on Valentine's Day.)

For our ice cream and fudge, we spent about $13 here. The ladies working there were very congenial, and the service was excellent.

The place has a nice bathroom.

If you come here for the sweets, consider strolling down the sidewalk to the antique stores. If the weather is warm, take your gelato with you while you walk.

Whistle Stop closes at 5 pm daily, and they are closed Sundays and Mondays.

We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistle Stop Sweet Shop also viewed

 

Been to Whistle Stop Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistle Stop Sweet Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.