We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most excellent lunch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smashburger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashburger
8135 Hwy 72W, Madison, AL 35758
256-726-0031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 146 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Harvest, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A most excellent lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I tried Smashburger this past weekend, and I have to say it was awesome. The menu selection is expansive and interesting, the restaurant is fresh, attractive, and clean, and the people who work there are fantastic. I had an avocado club burger with goat cheese, and the wife (who wasn't originally hungry) had the Veggie Frites (flash-fried carrot sticks and green beans). She GOT hungry, of course, and thoroughly enjoyed my french fries, and a bite off my burger.
I'm not sure why there are comparisons to Five Guys; this place is much more upscale, and the burgers are MUCH better than Five Guys.
All in all, it was a great lunch experience, and we will definitely go back for more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    9
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went here for lunch today. We work in the Research Park area so to dive out there it was a bit out of the way but well worth it. How people can say that it doesnt compare to 5Gs is beyond me. This place I feel is way better! I never been to a smash before but can tell you that when I;m in the need for a burger fix this is where I'll be going. I had the big smash with grill mushrooms, and onions! The burger was big, fat, freash and juicy!!! I would recomend this place to anyone!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is an over-priced alternative to Five Guys and Fries. They do not have anything that compares to 5GF! I feel for the size of the burger it is over-priced. Only tried once and it was an hour wait for such average food, maybe I will try agin when the :new" wear off and see if it improves. Sad for a first experience, I hope it remains so I can try it again since I was close to rating it a 2 rating instead!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New Place that is Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A chain restaurant but good food and local items special to this area - like fried green tomatoes on your hamburger or chicken. Everything is really good and fresh.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.