We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey's BBQ

Smokey's BBQ
8073 Highway 72 W, Madison, AL 35758
256.721.0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 151 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Madison is a small incorporated city just west of Huntsville with many shops, stores and restaurants.
Restaurant details
Description: Madison is a small incorporated city just west of Huntsville with many shops, stores and restaurants.
Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love Smokey's bbq. It's all great: the sauce (as for the last review, I don't think they leave the white sauce on the table anymore, you can ask for it at the counter and they'll give you little cups of it), the delicious meats, the tasty sides, the prices, everything. I've tried a ton of the local bbq places and always come back to this one. The owner is super nice and very easy to work with too (they cater). Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Smokey's Favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I do like this resturant but I must warn you about the white sauce that is served there. My wife had a very bad food posioning from there when she used the sauce on the table. I recommedn getting cooled fresh white sauce if you are going to try this resturant.

The stuffed baked potato's are "exceptional" along with the baked beans and Brunswick Stew. All of these are must trys at Smokey! This would have been rates either a 4 or 5 star if not for our incident with white sauce...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots on the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

There's lots of choices at Smokies and they are all good. Prices are fair staff is usually friendly

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's All Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you're looking for good BBQ this is the place to go. I have tried them all in this area and this is the best. In addition to the BBQ, the Brunswick stew and cornbread can't be beat. This is a typical BBQ place with order placement at the counter and seating yourself. They also excel at catering.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Loaded Bake Potato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and enjoyed the barbecue pork stuffed baked potato every time. The service is friendly, the price reasonable and the facility is always clean. It's a nice down home casual dinning experience. I would recommend it for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokey's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.