We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the chain restaurant, eat here instead” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck Wagon BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chuck Wagon BBQ
8982 Madison Blvd, Madison, AL 35758-1743
256-772-5179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 151 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: The best of Texas in Madison, AL!
Restaurant details
Description: The best of Texas in Madison, AL!
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Forget the chain restaurant, eat here instead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Are you kidding me?! Are you kidding me?! What amazing barbeque Chuck Wagon offers. If you are looking for some of the best brisket, sausage, or chicken in Huntsville/Madison, you have to try Chuck Wagon.
Call ahead to check the hours, as they do vary based on the season and day of the week. If you have friends in town and they are looking for authentic Southern barbeque, forget the chain restaurant (especially the one that opened 50 yards down the road) and check out Chuck Wagon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First and most importantly, the restaurant has different hours based on the time of year. Call ahead, check facebook, whatever you can to make sure they'll be open. As of this review (Summer), they weren't opening until 5pm.

The Chuck Wagon BBQ is right next to one of those fancy dancy chain restaurants with neon signs. It looks sort of like a large shack, but don't let the outside appearance fool you, it's what's inside that counts. What awaits you are tables inside and out (on a back patio) and a sort of deli counter of BBQ deliciousness. As with other folks, the sides (beans, slaw, corn, etc.) are kind of disappointing, so if you've got the option to take it to go, do so. A couple home made desserts end the counter. Don't forget to add some sauce to your meat, their hot is tasty and had a good bite to it (not overpowering.. in fact, I wanted more!)

All in all, a good BBQ restaurant, that left just enough fat in the meat to make it tasty, but not so much that you have to trim it all off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ate here every night of my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stumbled across this little gem on my way from the airport to my hotel. I liked the food and people there so much that I ate here three nights in a row. The BBQ is absolutely fantastic and the family that runs the place is warm and welcoming. I wanted ribs my second night, but showed up a little early for dinner, so settled on pork; the son brought me a sample of ribs near the end of my meal, when he pulled them from the smoker.

I can't wait to make it back to this place someday. Keep up the stellar work!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic BBQ! Pulled pork was super soft and extremely tasty. The coleslaw was fresh and nice and crunchy. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best brisket ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best brisket ever.mike Harris is from Texas knows his bar be cue. Great place to eat. You can usually catch him working with his sons. They make the visit More memorable. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chuck Wagon BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck Wagon BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.