We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells Like a Smoke House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Comfort Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1951 Village Drive, Leeds, AL 35094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smells Like a Smoke House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is very old. The exterior walls have been renovated but the interior of the hotel is very old. This is very noticeable as soon as you enter the hotel.

As you enter the hotel the smell of cigarette smoke is very strong - though it states that it is a "Non-Smoking" facility. There are non-smoking signs along the hallway, but this place reeks of cigarette smoke.

The room, though old, was very clean and the breakfast was decent. Somehow you become immune to the smell overnight.

Room Tip: "Choose another hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
On behalf of the hotel staff & management we apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Although we do have signs in the public areas as well as posted on certain rooms that indicate nonsmoking, at this time we still offer smoking rooms. We will be doing a complete renovation of the hotel and once finished, the entire hotel will smoke-free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is clean but very outdated, It's ok for one or two nights but its a little small for more,Its cheap and needs an update, the room (207) was small,dated, but clean. Ive stayed in a lot of nicer places, If you dont care much for modernization you might like it. Lastly their breakfast is well, not so good the area is quite tight and the food wasnt that great. So I would recommend driving on one more exit or two to The Hampton Inn its a lot nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us because we do value your opinion. We understand your concerns with the decor of our property which is why we will be starting a renovation of the complete property soon that will be more updated. Once completed, we hope for a more enjoyable experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Check-in was fairly easy, price ok, desk clerk could have been a little more helpful. Got to room and it could really use an update. Wallpaper peeling, paint peeling, door lock broken, just worn and rough. Breakfast was very tasty with a real good selection. Next time if not remodeled will probably stay at the Best Western next door.

Room Tip: Restaurants very close and handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
On behalf of our staff and managemnet we apologize if your stay with us was not a good experience. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future to change your mind about our property. We strive for ecellence in all aspects of our service and sincerely apoligze that we failed to meet your expectations. We in fact are in the process of getting ready to do a complete renovation to update everyting in hopes to make enjoyable stays for our guests. Thank you for your review. Your comments are valued and appreciated because they help us make improvements where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading some of scathing reviews of this place we were a bit apprehensive. Turned out to be a perfectly acceptable place to stop for two nights on a road trip through the south. The suite (ground floor) was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful. These "hot breakfasts" are always a bit of a disappointment wherever you go, so we just stick to the cereals, breads and coffee which were absolutely fine - eating area was clean and well supervised. If you want a real breakfast you can walk 100 yeards to a Cracker Barrel. For our dinner we walked to the Logan's Roadhouse which is adjacent to the hotel. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and we were not keen on the smell of tobacco in the corridor (there are some smoking rooms), but it was a handy stop over to explore Birmingham and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place should be stripped of a Comfort Inn license!!! The place is really ran down and needs major work, Breakfast is okay but all else is terrible and price is way to much for what you get!!!!!! The Best Western next doors is a lot better deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Do not stop at this hotel. The rooms are old, beat up and dirty. Cookie crumbs all over the carpet, stained bed spreads, and dirty shower/bath stalls. The people are nice and the breakfast was fine. The pool was clean but right on the interstate with no sound wall around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms in a quiet, convenient place away from all the noise and traffic, but only minutes away from restaurants and local shopping. We stayed there near Halloween while going to Atrox. It was so convenient and only minutes away. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean. Will definitely go back whenever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1951 Village Drive, Leeds, AL 35094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Leeds
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Leeds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.