We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for overnight stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florence

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Florence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Florence Blvd, Hwy 72 & 43 East, Killen, AL 35645   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Killen
Liphook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OK for overnight stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here one night and it was ok for a highway motel. It was a bit shabby, but fairly clean and had the huge plus point of a modest swimming pool, overlooking the river. Breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
5
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

The bathroom in this hotel could use some updating (dimly lit, old faucets, no heat lamp) but this was a very nice hotel room. The mattress was the new Simmons pillowtop, and it was SO comfortable! They have a sliding glass door, and all rooms are ground floor, so nobody is above you. The TV set was nice and big but does need to be on a higher stand or tabletop.
I had no real issues with this hotel at all. Internet works very well. The owner and manager were very hospitable.

They are about 3 miles out of town, going East on US 72/43 just after you cross the bridge on the left. A short 3 minute drive to Cox Creek Pkwy and you have any restaurant you could ever want. I would surely stay here again if I was in Florence area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Super 8 in Florence has a really nice setting on the banks of the river- see the photo I have added. This is the one benefit, and the other is it is really cheap at around $60 a night.
But there are drawbacks- it is maybe 5 or 6 miles out of town and near no other motels. And you have a 5 mile drive to get to any choice of restaurants. So convenient it's not. The breakfast is very basic- coffee and some plastic wrapped danish.

Lastly, it was clean enough, but could do with a serious overhaul. Fittings and furniture are really old, and the aircon just can't cope. One ice machine a long way from the rooms, and an empty, broken snack machine sum it up.

But for $60 and one night? Ok I suppose....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killen hotels

Traveler
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

First off, at $66.59 (including tax) this motel is way overpriced.
The thing about this property is it could be so nice...and probably was at one stage.

It sits right on the shore of a lake and some of the rooms even have a little 'balcony' area that has a view of the water. The problem is that one sentence makes the motel sound way better than it is.
The rooms are very stinky. It was one of those funks that attaches itself to everything that comes into the room. I could literally smell that funk in my nose for ages after I had left the motel. The rooms are also not very clean at all. That would explain the funk I imagine. They have a small 'kitchen' area with a stove/oven (the one in my room was filled with mold in the oven. There's a fridge (the one in my room had mold all around the seals. Also, a microwave (yep...it had mold in it !!!)

The 'breakfast' area is like a little closet in the 'lobby' with coffee and some cereal.

If you are heading towards Florence I would recommend staying at just about anywhere else other than here. It's a real shame as this is a prime piece of real estate and has tons of pontential...which will never be met under this owner I am sure.

I couldn't and wouldn't recommend this property to any type of traveller whatsoever.

  • Liked — Not a thing
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

The room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The view of the river was great. Could not have done better for the price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florence

Address: 101 Florence Blvd, Hwy 72 & 43 East, Killen, AL 35645
Location: United States > Alabama > Killen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Killen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Florence 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Florence
Florence Super Eight
Florence Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.