We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Green Tomatoes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irondale Cafe Incorporated

Irondale Cafe Incorporated
1906 1ST Ave N, Irondale, AL 35210-1102
(205) 956-5258
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Irondale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Holland, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fried Green Tomatoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

While visiting family in the Birmingham area, they took us out to eat at the Irondale Cafe. I was thrilled when I learned that it's the very cafe and location that one of my most favorite books is based on - Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fanny Flagg. The service was wonderful,; the setting diner/cafe like; and the food was home style good. I had Greek style chicken, fried green tomatoes, pecan chocolate pie, and more. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just Like Grandmaw's!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This has got to be the best,now don't let me scare you off when I say this word, cafeteria.....I do not normally go for a cafeteria but this food was amazing!!! Lots of fried food but I just could not help myself! Probably the best fried chicken I have ever had. Lots of choices of desserts, all the most popular veggies down south including the most popular Fried Green Tomatoes! The staff was superb, just so friendly and helpful and all smiles. Just a wonderful place. A must if you ever pass through Irondale, AL. I saw on review where the spoke about the portions being "not what they used to be." Well, I don't know who could possibly eat more than they give or better yet, who needs more than that because they serve more than enough. We had to get a takeout box. It is a great place if you like good old fashioned country cooking in the south. It just doesn't get any better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cute, southern and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place was recommended by my hotel as the best place near-by for a local lunch. Food is served from steam tables, cafeteria-style, but dished out by a server. Portions were moderate, but adequate for lunch. I had the chicken-fried steak with brown gravy, mashed potatoes, fried green tomatoes, and corn bread. It was good, but overly memorable. I would recommend it though, especially for movie buffs and the connection to "Fried Green Tomatoes". There is a lot of movie memorabilia in the cafe' and a good selection of souvenirs available, including Whistle Stop Fried Green Tomato batter mix. ($2.99 here vs. $4.95 at the Birmingham Airport Gift Shop) The desserts looked good, but I declined.

Try it, but don't expected to be Wowed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Not the same since it sold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When the MCmichaels owned it they would load your plate up, now it's like a proportioned Jenny Craig plate. Price even increased, if u went back in the day u know what I'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wears well . . . Good, solid home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Irondale Cafe earns a lot of its fame as the setting for author Fannie Flagg's best-selling novel, "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle-Stop Cafe", later made into a popular movie. Indeed, there's a depot and several busy train tracks that run right in front of the restaurant, and it did serve as the inspiration for the slightly-more-colorful cafe in the book/movie. We eat here two or three times a month, and always enjoy the well-prepared vegetables -- especially the green beans, turnip greens, mac and cheese, and the cole slaw. The meats are tasty as well, especially the fried chicken, and the Creole shrimp and rice. Birmingham has five or six of these "meat and three" Southern diners -- all of them with steam tables, cafeteria-style, and all very good representations of the cuisine. Worth a drive off the highway!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irondale Cafe Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Irondale Cafe Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irondale Cafe Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.