We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irondale Cafe Incorporated

Irondale Cafe Incorporated
1906 1ST Ave N, Irondale, AL 35210-1102
(205) 956-5258
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Irondale
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Located right off the tracks and server cafeteria style. Love this place. Randomly stopped here while in town and will go back if I'm ever back. I was very confused by the pricing and what I should get so I just got what looked good and ended up paying too much. Will learn with experience I'm sure but I didn't really see or understand the menu. Great service and great food. Must try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    39
    22
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastaboga
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food is authentic Southern Home Cooking. They are known for the fried green tomatoes, but we didn't try any---there were too many other good things to choose from to fit all of it in our plates and tummies. The fried chicken is great, and the homemade cornbread dressing is a must try. The toasted cocunut cream pie and Mississippi mud cake are to die for. The food is cafeteria style, which I like sometimes--you see what you are getting and can choose from a variety of ready cooked foods. This is especially nice if you are in a hurry. The old downtown area where the restaurant is located makes you feel like you are on the set of an old movie. We will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't quite expecting the cafeteria style restaurant before going in but all the food is obviously made with love. I was really I pressed with the chicken and the tomatoes. Do not miss this place if you are in the Birmingham area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited here for lunch at the recommendation of EWTN for some local food, meaning fried green tomatoes, etc. The food was excellent; not large portions, and a bit pricey.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great must see place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved the small, old town feel you got at this establishment. Food was very, very good. Just thought it was a little over priced for a family/cafeteria style restaurant. For our family of 4 our bill was at $60. We would definitely come back again. My son loved seeing the trains come in!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irondale Cafe Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Irondale Cafe Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irondale Cafe Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.