We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the chain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Old Grants Mill Road, Irondale, AL 35210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Irondale
Portland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best of the chain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels. This is definitely the nicest. It was spotless with nice amenities. The young lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give 5 Stars is that the breakfast wasn't very good. To be fair, it was almost time for breakfast to end. Maybe they had a better selection earlier.

I've stayed at another Holiday Inn near the Birmingham airport, but this one is much nicer and in a better neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are elated that you had a great stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that we exceed your expections and we are happy that we succeed with your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back for many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Of all the Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed at, this one was the cleanest and had the best service. I recommend this hotel to anyone in the area or traveling. I searched before selecting this hotel and the reviews and comments from others helped me determine my selection. It's not very close to places to eat, but if you drive 2 miles from the hotel, there's an Olive Garden along with all the fast food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you..we are excited to have met your expectations. It is our daily goal to ensure that all our guest are stasfied with our service and it makes us very happy when we succeed. I will share your comments with our staff and continue improving our areas of opportunities. Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, it is guest like yourself that helps us with our continuous improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here this past weekend for the SWAC championship football game and overall the hotel was OK expected more from a holiday inn express. The problem came around 10:00pm when a stranger called my room pretending to be from the hotel staff asking for personal and credit card information claiming that the computers had a malfunction and that the hotel needed my information again, i became cautious and refused. After talking to the lady at the front desk he had called other rooms as well from an outside line. For inconvience the hotel took 15% off my room fee, and also housekeeping doesnt knock before entering they automatically use their key card and enter the room. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We were very surprise to read your comments. While we had heard of situations like your at other hotels, never had we exprienment this at our hotel. But fear not dear guest we have taken the proper steps to put a stop to such calls. Our night audit department has being re-trained on transfering calls. We are 100% confident that this will not happen again. Thank you for your feed back and rest assure that we are addressing this issue as a serious matter. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our dog while we visited family in North Birmingham. The first room we were given was absolutely huge. It was clean and the decor was nice. I really liked it. I noticed a ladybug crawling across the wall but that didn't bother me since I've always heard that's good luck. However, after noticing the one ladybug I noticed about 2 dozen more crawling around the top of the walls and ceiling. That may have been a lot of good luck but I didn't really want to sleep in a room with that many bugs. After telling the front desk, we were immediately moved to a different room. The new room was just as nice only smaller without the ladybugs. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. The bed was comfortable. They had really good coffee in the lobby for breakfast. There was even a choice of half and half, skim milk, or the little things of liquid creamer for the coffee. Food wise they offered biscuits, Canadian bacon, scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, muffins, waffles and english muffins. If we ever stay in a hotel in Birmingham again we will choose this one. And most likely, I will always look into staying at Holiday Inn Express whenever we stay in a hotel now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback....Yes...we do have some lady bugs in our hotel...however, in Birmngham they are grown for agricultural purposes so you will find them in most hotels, homes, offices, etc. We make every effort to assure that all rooms are clean and lady bug free, however, the little suckers sometimes come in after we inspected the rooms. But fear not, lady bugs are GOOD LUCK!! seriously...it is against birmngham code to kill Lady Bugs and who would want to kill GOOD Luck..right....but again thanks for your feedback and we will make sure to be more diligent. Also, we are happy to have met your expectations...see you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and the staff is one of the friendliest I have ever meet. They are very nice and professional. I loved just talking with them and they had everything in order and had my priority gift ready when I arrived. I do not know all of the names but Lacresha was so friendly and outgoing. She is great. The room is standard HI express. It was clean and everything worked and I did not have any problems. The morning breakfast was ok and they ever have a guest Hospitality night on Wednesdays. Good deal there. All in all a great stay and the entire staff made the trip very pleasant. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We love our guest and strive to provide the best service possible. We will continue improving everyday and hope to succeed with everybody. Thank you and we hope to see you back at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Irondale, Alabama from 9-29-12 to 10-1-12. The overall cleanliness was excellent and the staff was very friendly however, the beds are Hard and uncomfortable and I didn't sleep well. We stayed three nights and each day I was miserable. I wanted to drink coffee down in the breakfast room but it was so nasty I had to pour it out and go to McDonald's for a cup. Last year we stayed at the Hampton inn next door. There the beds were comfortable and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback...we are happy that you stayed with us and the you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry that you did not like our beds and the the coffee was not up to par. We are actively working on improving both our FF&E and breakfast products. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Irondale with 12 fellow church members during our visit for the GROW Leadership Conference. I can't say enough about the Wonderful Staff such a delight. The rooms were clean and the overall appearance of the hotel was A+. Not to mention the great location in regards to the Church of the Highlands. Great Conference and Great Experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is truly invaluable. We are working everyday to give the service that our guest deserve and it makes me very happy that we met your expectations. Thanks you again and please come see us soon. Have a fantastic week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Road, Irondale, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Irondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.