We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds and coffee.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Old Grants Mill Road, Irondale, AL 35210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
1 review
“Beds and coffee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Irondale, Alabama from 9-29-12 to 10-1-12. The overall cleanliness was excellent and the staff was very friendly however, the beds are Hard and uncomfortable and I didn't sleep well. We stayed three nights and each day I was miserable. I wanted to drink coffee down in the breakfast room but it was so nasty I had to pour it out and go to McDonald's for a cup. Last year we stayed at the Hampton inn next door. There the beds were comfortable and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank necfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback...we are happy that you stayed with us and the you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry that you did not like our beds and the the coffee was not up to par. We are actively working on improving both our FF&E and breakfast products. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Irondale with 12 fellow church members during our visit for the GROW Leadership Conference. I can't say enough about the Wonderful Staff such a delight. The rooms were clean and the overall appearance of the hotel was A+. Not to mention the great location in regards to the Church of the Highlands. Great Conference and Great Experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is truly invaluable. We are working everyday to give the service that our guest deserve and it makes me very happy that we met your expectations. Thanks you again and please come see us soon. Have a fantastic week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for just one night, and without a car, so the airport / local shuttle was very handy. The drivers who picked me up, took me to dinner, etc were very friendly and professional.

The rooms were clean and quiet, and the front desk personnel were very amiable. This hotel is roughly six miles from the airport, but worth the (complimentary) shuttle ride.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. It is always a pleasure to hear what our guest are saying about us. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to continue offering great hassle free service at a value. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The recent reviews that are very good are accurate from our experience as well. We had two rooms on the forth floor with quiet AC units. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and the rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. We all felt safe and secure. I felt their breakfast was a little above average for variety and average for quality food. I'm always thankful for a breakfast waiting for me in the morning. Hotwire had a rate that was at least 40% cheaper then the motels best rate at that time and less then $60 per room. The hill up to the motel is rather steep but then I come from the flat part of Illinois. I would say cleanliness,comfort and service get an A and would stay their again.

Room Tip: Top floor and away from the elevator. No one moving about above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrylwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review we hope to continue offering the service that you expect. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

All the things were great there except the noisy air conditioning system that caused some disturbance at night time. The breakfast next day morning was great and especially the lady taking care Veronica was great in dealing. She kept an eye all the times on the needs of the guests. I had three kids with me and she dealt nicely with them and gave some sort of gifts to them. My wife does not know english but she helped her in selection of food. I will stay at the same place if I get a chance

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedkabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give up your opinion. We love that we met your expections and hope to continue doing so. Please come visit us again. Thanks you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here our final night on the road. Typical HIE, very clean, nice friendly staff but was more expensive than other HIE we have stayed at. Comfy bed, fluffy towels, quiet. Hot buffet breakfast with eggs, bacon, biscuits, pancakes, fruit, oatmeal (packet)and cold cereal. Good coffee!! Also had cinnamon rolls but they were gone by 7:00am. Didnt have time to wait for more. Overall a clean convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligurrl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We try to make our prices competitive, but we are glad that you gaves us your feedback. Please come back when you are in town. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

greeted well, A/C worked, nothing unusual, nothing spectacular, very convenient to airport

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guvnerwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#46 of 81 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Road, Irondale, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing