We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Huntsville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Huntsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Gulf Coast Fla
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although this is a nice property, it's not convenient to much. There is no restaurant within walking distance, so you have to rely on delivery or driving somewhere. The staff was helpful, the facility was clean, as was the room. The breakfast fare was typical Haqmpton freebies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    51
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
55
31
18
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have to say that there's really nothing wrong with this place. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. It was quiet while we were there. The breakfast was adequate and reflected some of the local flavor - biscuits and gravy for breakfast, y'all. It was just a motel in the middle of an unending strip mall. Unfortunately, it wasn't clear there was a better option in Huntsville. It's a town dominated by the aerospace industry and the military arsenal. It's very green and pretty though. Two days was definitely enough time to spend there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in the oldest of several Hampton Inns in the area, particularly since it was near places we wanted to go. The only way I knew its age was that the rooms all opened to the outside - no indoor corridors. However, that was not a problem. The rooms were beautifully updated and furnished. I loved the Plantation shutters on the windows. Our room had a king bed and a pull out sofa bed. It was almost like being at home to sit on the sofa and watch tv. We had snacks in the fridge and the microwave was handy if we wanted to pop some corn. The beds and coverings were super. Loved the breakfast. Hot food every morning as well as the waffles, cereal and fresh fruit. My favorite was the oatmeal. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Huntsville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waldorf, md, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was told this was a 31/2 start hotel. The eggs they served for breakfast were edible but gross. The people were nice but my room was just a room amenities (fridge, microwave and TV) and a bathroom. My friend came to visit and I asked to be moved to a double occupancy room for the remainder of my stay. I was almost charged for 2 rooms and I had to change rooms 2 times. The worst thing was Fox news in the morning while breakfast was being served. Nothing worst than listening to as fake news station release propaganda while I am trying to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a Hampton Inn for more than a day or two since the Spring of 2008. I took a chance and I had a "WICKED AWESOME" stay. I will use Hampton Inn more and more now. The breakfast hostesses knew exactly what I liked for breakfast and made sure I had it when I stumbled in through the doors every morning after 11 hrs at work all night. I had an interior door to my room and a jacuzzi tub, which made my stay the best besides my home.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the new section, which are interior doors. Eat at Wintzells if possible, they suppl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graysville, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. My wife and I were in town to attend a Russian Food Festival, and to help raise some money for a Russian Chapel. The festival was on the university campus, and this hotel is only 1 mile from the university. The close proximity was a huge plus. The room we had was a King room and it was very clean. There was complimentary shampoo and conditioner in the room, in case you had forgotten yours. The hotel had free in room WIFI. The only thing keeping me from giving the property a rating of excellent is the breakfast. It was ok, but it could have been better. It did have a hot meat on the buffet, but I have had better meals at other hotels. Stay here if you are looking for a nice hotel near the university.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are outside rooms. This makes a difference to some people. Enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would have given 5 stars except for the fact that this hotel is older and has the exterior entrances to all the rooms. This means you have to go outside and walk around to get to the lobby, which is a little inconvenient (especially in the unseasonable cold weather Huntsville was having when I was there). But otherwise, this was a good property. Room was large, very clean, and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi in the room (always a plus!!); very good hot breakfast (complimentary); and pleasant, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. Good value for the money!

Room Tip: Since you have to walk outside to get to the lobby, try for a room nearer the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntsville

Address: 4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntsville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.