We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No laundry room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Huntsville

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #6 of 54 hotels in Huntsville
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No laundry room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was clean and quiet, the breakfast was decent, and the staff was helpful and courteous. But there is no laundry room on the property. I had to drive a few miles to a location that they recommended. There were some hustlers and G's hanging around the laundromat and luckily, since I'm an O.G. myself, I scored some bubonic chronic and blazed up a hella blunt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed that we did not have a laundry room at our hotel. I truly apologize if you if this caused you any inconveniences and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience.

Again, I thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    26
    12
    2
See reviews for
51
27
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I like to stay at Hampton when I travel so when I saw I was going to Huntsville I booked it. When I saw it was an "outie" design I was disappointed (note: there are some interior corridor rooms at the back of the hotel). When I got to my room I was pleased - while not new it was very clean with a nice flat screen TV. The cookies from the front desk improved my mood even more. Then I switched on my iPad only to discover there was no WIFI service (it was available in the lobby, not much help when I was near the back of the hotel). To add to my misery, my sleep was interrupted by sirens and alarms on both nights I was there.

I will say the staff was very friendly. This was a trip where I did not have the opportunity to sample the breakfast, but they seem to be pretty standard across the chain now. I do not see, nor did I look for an exercise room.

Overall the comfort of the room was fine. If you do not need WIFI (there is wired intranet service in the room) and do not mind having an exterior corridor room, well, this hotel is fine. It just does not work for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize in regards to the noise you encountered during your stay. I totally regret that noise was disruptive to you and apologize that you're comfort was interrupted. In addition, I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced by the lack of Wi-Fi in your room. We are always listening to our guests and I can assure you that your feedback will be taken into consideration to find alternative solutions to satisfy our guests.

Again, I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have had and I hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic staff. Older style Hampton Inn that has had a moderate make-over. Nothing to do with the hotel, but smoker in the room next door ruined my stay--smoking out on the walkways will go right into the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. I was happy to read from your review that you thought that our staff was fantastic while you stayed with us. Our main priority is for our guests to experience a welcoming stay. We do apologize for the smell of your suite during your stay and we hope you will give us another chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is clean. The staff is super friendly and gave good a lot of suggestion for places to eat dinner. The rooms are really nice and most important the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was really good and they served until 10:00 A.M.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I average about 60 hotel stays a year on business, and I prefer to stay at Hampton Inns most of the time because they offer consistent quality and amenities. I am sorry to say that this property does not live up to the Hampton Inn standard. I have no complaints of the service or staff which were great. The problem is the building itself.
This is an older hotel with external doors and stairways that you would find at a low end chain. No interior corridors = A big negative. Outside traffic and housekeepers rolling carts outside our door on concrete was a big nuisance. Our room was also quite small. We had two twin beds in our room and barely had room to maneuver around each other. The third big complaint is the lack of WIFI. While there is an ethernet port in the room, I do most of my business on a tablet and need WIFI access.
Bottom line: Don’t be fooled by the low rates. I would rather pay a little more and get the amenities and room quality I am used to at Hampton Inn. Next time I will pick one of the other HI’s in town.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a first floor room for easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stay at a lot of Hilton properties (HH Diamond) and while I prefer Hilton Garden Inns, I selected this Hampton Inn as it was close to my business in Huntsville. I found this Hampton Inn to be a step above the others I have visited recently. I was impressed with the morning breakfast at this facility – the food items were refreshed frequently and the tables bussed as needed – most guest self-bus their tables.

A special thanks to the front desk lady at check-in that directed us to Wintzell’s Oyster Bar just behind the Hampton Inn. We enjoy three nice dinners in this fine eatery.
http://www.wintzellsoysterhouse.com/

We also enjoyed the Manager’s nightly reception with snacks and delicious homemade fruit punch and lemonade. Wednesday night is not to be missed as the appetizers are from Wintzell’s.

The in-room Ethernet worked fine – as a replacement for the WiFi which, as others state, only works in the lobby & pool area.

The TV reception was a tad flakey – Dish TV is my guess – the PBS station was only viewable the first night, after that it was a digital mess.

Good value, good location and southern hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here as a stop on our way to Panama City Beach. I would gladly come back, and stay here. The ladies at the front desk were so nice. :) The cable was out when we first arrived because there was a storm, but all was up and running in no time. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing, but after a little self exploration, we figured it out. The pool was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntsville

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn
Address: 4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#9 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntsville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Huntsville to your Saves list