We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Huntsville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Huntsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Christopher, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here as a stop on our way to Panama City Beach. I would gladly come back, and stay here. The ladies at the front desk were so nice. :) The cable was out when we first arrived because there was a storm, but all was up and running in no time. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing, but after a little self exploration, we figured it out. The pool was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    51
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
55
31
18
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend Aug 10, 11. Our family reserved 4 rooms we were there for a wedding. The rooms were all double beds. They were clean and had flat screen tvs, mini fridges and microwaves. The bathroom did have some mold/mildew. The fact that there was no WIFI in the rooms was inconvienant. Lobby only and depending where U were sitting also near the pool area wifi. Pillows were not comfy. Air units did make a lot of noise but at least the rooms were all cool. Traveling with 3 young children. The outdoor pool was a welcome distraction for them. As hunstville seemed quaint and small. Other than the space center and a quick drive down some of the older historic homes. Could not find much more to do. The breakfast was good and plenty. Offering hot items. breakfast area does get crowed and there aren't enough seats. Enjoyed my stay. Good for a couple nights stay. Close to highway and art museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel has decent accomodations, good customer service, but still has many flaws. It is an older property and is in need of updating. It has the normal things to expect from a Hampton Inn like a comfortable bed, nice shower head, and a free hot breakfast. The servie is also good and I have no compaints about the staff. The property is dated and is one of the few Hampton Inns that have most of its rooms with the doors to the room on the outside. I was disappointed in several things. There was mold starting to grow around the tub caulking, the keys took several attempts to work, the vending machines were missing from several areas, and the breakfast service at 7:30 am was so crowded that there was no place to sit. This is a property that really needs updating. In the meantime it will do, and I will probably return. I just won't be looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Since most of the rooms are accessed directly from outdoors, I would request a ground floor room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us in Huntsville. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry that you ran into issues. We have replaced the key card reader to your room and have addressed the restroom issues with our housekeepers. We are also starting renovation of the lobby. Adding a Suite Shop where guests can purchase items instead of vending machines. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Hotel is old and not up to standards for Hampton Inn. The elevator was hot. The hall smelled. The refridgerator made noises. Family did not enjoy stay. I can not believe that this was the #5 hotel in Huntsville. It is the worse one I have stayed at ever. Slamming doors continued all night. There is no wireless in rooms. The free wireless is in lobby. The key had to be slid in and out multiple times to work. Never worked the first time.
Was not given chance to change rooms. Told that there were no other queen rooms. Was put in back of hotel in old wing. A Honors member deserves better. Hard to get to room with luggage.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Stay at Hilton Garden Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that the condition of your guest room was unacceptable. We have worked with our housekeeping team to freshen the space and we are currently looking into expanding our wireless internet accessibility in the coming months. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future and let us know how we are doing on our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am used to "HILTON products" for a longer time. This time the HAMPTON INN in Huntsville turned out a disappointment. Even that the staff was great, very friendly and knowledgeable, the rooms were clean and nothing to complain; the whole concept of the rooms reminds you at the 80s. On top of it the in room air condition is so loud, that it disturbs a sound sleep. Sorry, but no comparison to other HILTON products. This hotel definitely needs a face lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I understand that the loud air conditioning unit was a concern, and we are working to correct the issue. Although we are an older property we are continually looking for ways to improve our guest experience and we will take your comments into consideration moving forward. I do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us at our hotel so that we may show you the experience you have grown to expect from our brand; we would love to have you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The staff here was very nice, a little far of 65 but located in an area with lots of restaurants and shopping, nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Comfortable, clean, well appointed rooms. Doors open to outside versus hallway. Nice patio and pool. Delicious free breakfast and afternoon snacks. WI-FI does not work in the room though :-(. Decent rates

Room Tip: Get a room close to reception if you need WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntsville

Address: 4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#11 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntsville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.