We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Huntsville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Texarkana, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Hotel is old and not up to standards for Hampton Inn. The elevator was hot. The hall smelled. The refridgerator made noises. Family did not enjoy stay. I can not believe that this was the #5 hotel in Huntsville. It is the worse one I have stayed at ever. Slamming doors continued all night. There is no wireless in rooms. The free wireless is in lobby. The key had to be slid in and out multiple times to work. Never worked the first time.
Was not given chance to change rooms. Told that there were no other queen rooms. Was put in back of hotel in old wing. A Honors member deserves better. Hard to get to room with luggage.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Stay at Hilton Garden Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that the condition of your guest room was unacceptable. We have worked with our housekeeping team to freshen the space and we are currently looking into expanding our wireless internet accessibility in the coming months. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future and let us know how we are doing on our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    62
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
65
35
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am used to "HILTON products" for a longer time. This time the HAMPTON INN in Huntsville turned out a disappointment. Even that the staff was great, very friendly and knowledgeable, the rooms were clean and nothing to complain; the whole concept of the rooms reminds you at the 80s. On top of it the in room air condition is so loud, that it disturbs a sound sleep. Sorry, but no comparison to other HILTON products. This hotel definitely needs a face lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I understand that the loud air conditioning unit was a concern, and we are working to correct the issue. Although we are an older property we are continually looking for ways to improve our guest experience and we will take your comments into consideration moving forward. I do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us at our hotel so that we may show you the experience you have grown to expect from our brand; we would love to have you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The staff here was very nice, a little far of 65 but located in an area with lots of restaurants and shopping, nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Comfortable, clean, well appointed rooms. Doors open to outside versus hallway. Nice patio and pool. Delicious free breakfast and afternoon snacks. WI-FI does not work in the room though :-(. Decent rates

Room Tip: Get a room close to reception if you need WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel offered everything necessary for a comfortable business trip. Rooms were spacious and clean. Everything worked in the room, a plus these days. No wifi in the rooms, but the hard wire connection was enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohatchee, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful staff along with a very clean room. The internet was very easy to hook up to and worked like a charm. We had the King Size bed on the bottom floor. A tad bit small but it would not stop me from staying again. The breakfast was hot and fresh with several different beverages to chose from. We would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have stayed at this Hampton previously and they again didn't disappoint. The rooms were updated, very clean, and had awesome beds! The breakfast and staff were wonderful-I had two teenagers that slept in but they made sure they ate breakfast. The check in and check out was the easiest I have ever experienced. It is convenient and close to several restaurants and shopping :-) Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntsville

Address: 4815 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#5 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.