We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Huntsville to your Saves list
Marriott Huntsville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great place to stay, convientily located to central downtown Huntsville and all industrial area and shopping areas and places to eat. Easy access from Huntsville International Airport and right next to the NASA Space Muesum and Space Camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
45
20
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Marriott lived up to the company's standards - the lobby was pretty, the rooms spacious, the staff friendly and helpful. I travel for business and hotels tend to blurr, but one thing that set this Marriott apart was the view! My room had a large window that framed The Saturn IB Launch Vehicle (a space-needle looking thing) through lovely green trees. It made me happy every morning.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of The Saturn IB Launch Vehicle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed here before and don't recall the rooms stinking but this visit, the first room i was given stunk and the AC didn't work. I checked in late ( about midnight) so i wanted the AC to work. I was given another room which seemed a bit better ( not much) on the AC front so i took it. The next day when I came back from a day of work, that room also smelled of urine. Nasty. Both rooms had the AC at 65 degrees so the air should have been on high and blowing out any old nasty smell. Didn't work. I'm not sure if they now allow pets or what but this was two separate rooms on the concierge floor so it seems like a problem. The upside- the staff seems to try to please, like when i switched rooms after midnight check in but yet the smell was overwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in Huntsville for a wedding at the Botanical Gardens and needed a close room for the night. The Marriott Huntsville fit the bill perfect. Only a couple of blocks away. The room seemed recently renovated with all the amenities you'd expect in a newer hotel. My wife absolutely loved the bed. They are remodeling the lobby but it does not affect the hotel in anyway. Very clean room and helpful staff. The only complaint would be the shuttle only runs to the airport. We were hoping to take it to the wedding. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatanooga TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I Read most of the reviews by other folks and was greatly surprised when I decided that heck with others. I wanted close to the Space Center. Folks, you can't get any closer, it's walking distance. Yes they are in the process of remodeling the entrance, big deal, we were still greeted with a smile and friendly atmosphere. Check-in time was supposed to start at 3 PM, we got there at 11:15 local and went straight to our room. The room was clean, as were the linens, towels and everything for that matter. We passed 2 of the cleaning staff or the way to our room and were greeted by each with a warm and friendly attitude. Don't know what problems other folks ran into but unless you expected the staff to be bent at 45 degrees in preparation, well enough said. I don't expect that so --. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant and contrary to other comments the
food and service was great. The restaurant was very clean and well maintained. We were there on Labor day weekend and we were treated as if we were the only folks in the whole place.
The only bad thing, my wife is a smoker and the hotel is non-smoking and NO!, we did not cheat,
we went outside to smoke. Although there were many guests (the parking lot was very full) there
was very little detectable noise. The only suggestion I would make is that for a hotel with the Marriott name, it was surprising that there was no small refrigerator in the room. But guess what, we survived. I would strongly recommend if you are going to the Space Center in Huntsville, AL that you pick the Marriott at 5 Tranquility Base for your temporary home.

Room Tip: I don't feel it would make any difference so take what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a Platinum Elite Marriott member I have stayed at this property 3 times. I'm here tonight for likely the last time. We can tell when the employees have "Marriott" training and when they haven't, and the employees here just don't seem to give a damn. It's just a general disregard, ignorance and indifference, to the so called "little things" that determine whether you come back or not. I ordered room service tonight and asked twice for an ice water with "lemon". I got the ice water...no lemon. I called down and had to ask for a Marriott robe ( which, as a Platinum Elite Member should have ben hanging in my closet upon arrival) if I had been booked into the typical, appropriate room. The genius "at your service" rep said "we have robes, but they don't say "Marriott" on them". I replied, "ok, just have one sent up". It did come up with my non lemon dinner. It was in a clear plastic wrap, it looked new, and it had embroidered on the upper breast left hand side the ubiquitous and unmistakable corporate phrase: "Marriott Hotels & Resorts".

The room service dinner was delicious and the room itself is nice and updated, but the employees need to be further educated, trained and maybe sent to another Marriott property to experience what other Marriott employees seem to have gleaned from their training. It doesn't appear to be too much of a difficult endeavor ( I've seen it manifested countless times at Marriott hotels & resorts nation wide) it does appear to absent, tonight, at this particular Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club Level if possible. Small, but nice Concierge lounge, with very friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend for our family reunion. Check in was simple and all of the front desk employees greets you with a smile. Although they are remodeling it wasn't my focal point.
Our room was clean. We had double beds they were not queen size more of a full but comfortable. I requested a rollaway and they delivered it in less than 10 min. I did notice that you can clearly hear people talking in the hall but it didnt bother me due to it being my family members.
The hotel pool was great we stayed in the inside pool which also connects to the outside.
No complimentary breakfast but they do have a restaurant on site that serves it. The hotel is located right next to the space museum and not far away from major shopping and restaurants.
We had great time.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Huntsville

Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Huntsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.