We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Huntsville to your Saves list
Marriott Huntsville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, OK hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best aspect of this Marriott is its proximity to the Space and Rocket Center. It is right next door! As a hotel, it is a standard Marriott with above average friendliness. The rooms are clean and of a good size. I had an upper floor room and it was very quiet, which is certainly not always the case when I stay at hotels. The staff were great and very welcoming. Lots of southern friendliness. I would be happy to stay here again on my next trip to Huntsville.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to both the Space and Rocket Center and the Space and Rocket Center Campground. There was a large conference of the Alabama Jailer's Association going on when we were there, and when we noticed their hospitality suite was directly across from our room, I feared noise would be an issue. They seemed to have a large gathering in the hallways and 7th floor elevator area, and several men blocked the hallway and our door. However, they were polite and moved out of our way, and the noise issue was minimal. By 11pm, they had quieted down considerably.

The hotel was clean, and the rooms were decorated simply and tastefully. Like the previous reviewer, we weren't too fond of the in-room coffee making (our coffee maker was kind of dirty, too). They brought the requested roll-away promptly and set it up. Breakfast in the morning was good, and service was pleasant and attentive.

The pool area was small, but was great! It isn't the most modern and up-to-date of pool areas, but the pool was clean and the water wonderfully warm. The jacuzzi was also clean and perfect temperature. The sauna was set to low, but warmed nicely when turned up. A few more chairs would have been nice in the pool area, as it became quite crowded with people tossing their belongings on the floors.

The fitness center was well-equipped and clean as well.

My only big complaint is that Marriott contracts exclusively with Pepsi. Yuck! A machine with Coke products would have been an awesome and welcome addition.

Even with the lobby under renovation at the time, the staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: If there is a convention going on, ask to be far away from their hospitality suite if it bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midwife1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Space and Rocket Center. The lobby was underconstruction, so I cannot reliably tell you much about that. When we checked in there was a slight wait, but the staff was friendly and helpful. I was surprised that the hotel does not offer free wi-fi. They charge $10 a night for wi-fi, and you cannot bring your own lan cable (there are no lan connections in the rooms). They did offer us a coupon for one free night, a bottle of water or a $3 discount in the gift shop.

The room we were in was nicely decorated and appointed, if on the smallish side - no complaints. The beds are comfortable, but their is no lightweight blanket on the bed, so I got hot the first night we were there.

We used room service for dinner and thought it was great. It was fast, fresh and did not cost an arm and a leg. The room service staff was excellent!

We ate breakfast downstairs, and although the restaurant staff was super friendly and attentive, I thought it was way over-priced. This hotel is in Huntsville, not NYC. Over $40 for two adults and one child for breakfast is way too pricey. The breakfast was fine but nothing special. Free Hampton waffles are yummier.

One small ammenity that we were disappointed with - the in-room coffee was beyond terrible. So we tried the lobby coffee and it was still terrible. Something small, I know but vital for coffee drinkers. You can purchase a cup of freshly brewed Starbucks (stored in a caraffe) in the gift shop. That was much better, but not complimentary.

Overall, it was fine, but I would not choose this hotel again. If you are on a per diem, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to my business meeting and I was only there for one night. I was really surprised when I saw the hotel from the outside because I'm so used to seeing Marriott hotels more updated but the interior didn't seem as outdated and the room that I got appeared to have been renovated and was clean. I got food to go from the restaurant downstairs and it was just okay but I was too tired to go out. Room service was available as well if needed. The staff was really very nice and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KaChauS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a perfect place for us. It's walking distance from our location, it was very nice, clean and affordable. The rooms were extremely nice and the beds were very comfortable. The indoor pool was perfect for the kids and the staff was extremely courteous and catered to our needs. I will stay here every time I come to Huntsville.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for 1 night on a business visit - arrived at hotel 10pm (a short drive from airport, and easy to find), left 9am. Staff friendly and checkin/out efficient. General decor was dated - looks to be in need of refurbishment. Other than that it is a typical Marriott. I didn't use restaurants, but ate breakfast in exec lounge - usual selection of dishes, though room is quite small, and could get crowded?

Would I return - possibly as I am a Marriott Rewards member, but will research other hotels in area first.

Room Tip: High floor in tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
316 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been here before, and it was always a solid average. It looks like they must have gotten new management and have a had a makeover as well. The pluses - new restaurant with great service and good food (little on the pricey side). The fitness room is certainly better than average. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The only drawback is the rooms themselves. Nothing wrong per se, but not beginning to show a little age. I guess there is just so much you can do with a room that is several years old.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#19 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville/Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#22 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Huntsville

Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Huntsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing