We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but goodie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night 4/25/2013 while in Huntsville. We stayed on the 4th floor which included snacks and drinks from 6 till 9 on Monday thru Thursday. This was hosted by a wonderful gentlemen named Carlos who has a knack for remembering names. A complimentary breakfast was included. The only problem was traffic pattern to the Hotel was blocked for the Arts Festival that weekend. Front desk staff were very nice. The room was above average for the age of the hotel the appearance was also for the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so happy you were able to enjoy so many of the benefits of being a Priority Club Member! Carlos is the most phenomenal Concierge ever and represents us very well! We are so proud of him, our Front Desk, and all of our team members. Thank you for for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. Nice open feel to the lobby, bar and restaurant. The constructive comment I would offer is that none of the staff we talked to had any idea what local eateries were like, or what to recommend to get a local Huntsville flavor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your positive comments regarding our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. We love it when our hard work is recognized and appreciated by our guests! We also invite constructive comments such as yours. They remind us that sometimes extra steps need to be taken to arm our staff with as much knowledge as possible to accommodate our guests' requests. We are so proud of our southern atmosphere and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon!
Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had one of the best stays at this hotel, the staff was the friendliest hotel staff I have even experianced. We really enjoyed our stay on the fourth floor with Carlos our executive hostest. He is a very nice guy and can whip them mixed drinks out left and right. Rooms are very nice and clean and everything we expected from the holiday inn but better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing this fantastic review with the Trip Advisor community! We are so pleased that you felt our warm welcome and that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. Carlos is a very valued member of our team and he will be so pleased to know he served you well. So many of our Priority Club members have praised him and our 4th floor accommodations! Your comments are truly appreciated and will be shared with all of our staff. Please come back and visit us soon!

Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lawrence and David were the most accommadating professional front desk staff I've ever experienced. they offered to carrie my bags to my room because their were no carts availiable. I love southern hosipatality.the hotel was so clean .The room was Great, the bath tub was clean . My stay was 3/2-4/13 . I will continue to us this location .This was a very pleasant week end . thanks Holiday Inn Staff ! The Lofton staff was Great as well . I give this holiday InnFive Stars !!!!
Move Your Front Desk Staff To Management .Y .Drain

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel would be great. threr is a lake accross the street and the arena which would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is very rewarding to read comments such as yours. Lawrence and David proved that going the extra mile is what we strive to do everyday with all of our guests. Our housekeeping and restaurant staff will be so pleased to know how happy you were with your room and your meals. We are so proud of our team members and really appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us. Your kind words will be shared with all of our staff. Thanks so much and hopefully we will see you again very soon!

Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkmont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent Feb. 7-10, 2013 here and the staff is exceptional. They were very polite and accommodadting. The food at Lofton's was very tasty...YUM! I will be visiting the restaurant, as well as the hotel again. The over-all experience was pleasureable. The location is great, right across from the park...Beautiful. Hugs to Aaron and Quincy they were the best. Mr. Jim, Jennifer, and Alynna (hope I got her name right) were pleasant to talk to and do business with. Loved it so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at our hotel! Positive comments like yours are so greatly appreciated! They remind our team members that we are achieving our goals of making every guest feel welcome. We are so proud of our lovely Big Spring Park across the street and are so glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Rocket City!

Amy C.
HR Admin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice part of town and in walking distance to several fine restaurants. It has a large welcoming lobby with a Starbucks and a inviting bar. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and very helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor and was very clean and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. My only complaints were a little too much hall noise and the hall lights shown under the door. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thanks so much for sharing your experience! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was there for a meeting with about 40 others. First night it took almost 3 hours to get our food. Maybe 30 people were in restaurant. Food was good when we got it. First night in our room the air unit made a terrible noise and sounded like the fan was hitting the housing on the unit. They were going to move us but didn't want to give us the same rate we had to do so. We asked that they fix the ac and let us stay in our cheaper room. AC did not get fixed and short cycled for the other two days making it hard to sleep without the use of earplugs. When I recieved my bill under the door they had charged me for one night at the special rate and two nights at the rate of the expensive room that they moved us too....Took a bit to get that fixed but was compensated for the mess ups with our room. So overall was not a bad experience. Staff helpful. Rooms Clean and nice location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at our hotel. Please know we take our guest's feedback very seriously and communicate all concerns with our staff. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay and are glad we were able to satisfy these concerns before you left our hotel. We certainly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon!

Amy C.
HR Admin. Asst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.