We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Much Better Than This” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Elkmont
1 review
“Doesn't Get Much Better Than This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent Feb. 7-10, 2013 here and the staff is exceptional. They were very polite and accommodadting. The food at Lofton's was very tasty...YUM! I will be visiting the restaurant, as well as the hotel again. The over-all experience was pleasureable. The location is great, right across from the park...Beautiful. Hugs to Aaron and Quincy they were the best. Mr. Jim, Jennifer, and Alynna (hope I got her name right) were pleasant to talk to and do business with. Loved it so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at our hotel! Positive comments like yours are so greatly appreciated! They remind our team members that we are achieving our goals of making every guest feel welcome. We are so proud of our lovely Big Spring Park across the street and are so glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Rocket City!

Amy C.
HR Admin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice part of town and in walking distance to several fine restaurants. It has a large welcoming lobby with a Starbucks and a inviting bar. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and very helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor and was very clean and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. My only complaints were a little too much hall noise and the hall lights shown under the door. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thanks so much for sharing your experience! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was there for a meeting with about 40 others. First night it took almost 3 hours to get our food. Maybe 30 people were in restaurant. Food was good when we got it. First night in our room the air unit made a terrible noise and sounded like the fan was hitting the housing on the unit. They were going to move us but didn't want to give us the same rate we had to do so. We asked that they fix the ac and let us stay in our cheaper room. AC did not get fixed and short cycled for the other two days making it hard to sleep without the use of earplugs. When I recieved my bill under the door they had charged me for one night at the special rate and two nights at the rate of the expensive room that they moved us too....Took a bit to get that fixed but was compensated for the mess ups with our room. So overall was not a bad experience. Staff helpful. Rooms Clean and nice location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Admin. Asst. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at our hotel. Please know we take our guest's feedback very seriously and communicate all concerns with our staff. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay and are glad we were able to satisfy these concerns before you left our hotel. We certainly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon!

Amy C.
HR Admin. Asst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first stay in Huntsville and the location across from Big Spring Park and easy walking access to all of the downtown attractions, made this hotel a good pick. An excellent friendly, polite and helpfull staff made me feel at home and the morning restaurant staff was very courteous and there was a good selection of breakfast choices. Although the hotel is older and shows some wear and tear it is clean, serviceable and comfortable and has all the amenities I would expect at a Holiday Inn. A Very Good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR ADMIN. ASST. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future!

Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I like the style of the HI downtown, the old Hilton, a kind that is very unique and hard to find today. Great service, great staff, large clean rooms, not a single reason for complains. As priority club member access to executive floor where Carlos takes care of drinks all evening! My recommendation for every visit at HSV!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First, lets say that the staff was excellent, polite, and out of way helpful. The resteurant was empty, but I was dog tired, and didn't want to leave. I received excellent service, and the entrees were on par, quality, taste and size with any casual dining chain. The sides were vegall. Minor thing, but you notice when entree good, sides, eh. Server was extra nice.

The hotel was clean, and taken care of, but definitely an OLDER property. Lots of twisty turn halls and guest rooms across from meeting rooms. I never could figure out how to make the thermostat work in room, but room temp was comfortable. Room had safe in it, I thought unusual touch.

Room and bathroom clean, and toilet actually had a tank .. hadn't seen that in long time. Priceline rated it 3 star, a tad optimistic. As long as you stay around 75 bucks, your getting fair value for money, or if your staying for a VBC event, convenient. As long as price was right, would stay again (though why no menu in room to see for room service, or just interested in eating?)

Room Tip: if your on first floor, be prepared for interesting room locations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am staying here for two nights. The king room is very spacious and clean. The location is very accessable to the highway and nice and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I agree with a previous reviewer about the holiday inn pillows though. I would definitely stay here again. Priceline did reserve me a double room instead of a king, but the front desk changed it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.