We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first stay in Huntsville and the location across from Big Spring Park and easy walking access to all of the downtown attractions, made this hotel a good pick. An excellent friendly, polite and helpfull staff made me feel at home and the morning restaurant staff was very courteous and there was a good selection of breakfast choices. Although the hotel is older and shows some wear and tear it is clean, serviceable and comfortable and has all the amenities I would expect at a Holiday Inn. A Very Good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR ADMIN. ASST. at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future!

Amy C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I like the style of the HI downtown, the old Hilton, a kind that is very unique and hard to find today. Great service, great staff, large clean rooms, not a single reason for complains. As priority club member access to executive floor where Carlos takes care of drinks all evening! My recommendation for every visit at HSV!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First, lets say that the staff was excellent, polite, and out of way helpful. The resteurant was empty, but I was dog tired, and didn't want to leave. I received excellent service, and the entrees were on par, quality, taste and size with any casual dining chain. The sides were vegall. Minor thing, but you notice when entree good, sides, eh. Server was extra nice.

The hotel was clean, and taken care of, but definitely an OLDER property. Lots of twisty turn halls and guest rooms across from meeting rooms. I never could figure out how to make the thermostat work in room, but room temp was comfortable. Room had safe in it, I thought unusual touch.

Room and bathroom clean, and toilet actually had a tank .. hadn't seen that in long time. Priceline rated it 3 star, a tad optimistic. As long as you stay around 75 bucks, your getting fair value for money, or if your staying for a VBC event, convenient. As long as price was right, would stay again (though why no menu in room to see for room service, or just interested in eating?)

Room Tip: if your on first floor, be prepared for interesting room locations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am staying here for two nights. The king room is very spacious and clean. The location is very accessable to the highway and nice and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I agree with a previous reviewer about the holiday inn pillows though. I would definitely stay here again. Priceline did reserve me a double room instead of a king, but the front desk changed it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Check-in was slow but the front desk was helpful in suggesting hotels and providing information about how to get to places. The rooms are adequate. Although your are given a selection of pillows (firm or soft) they all felt the same to me. If you are a pillow snob like me bring your own. The room numbers are wacky so make sure you get clear directions to your room. For example, our room was in the 200's but was on the third floor. Many of the conference attendees were lost looking for their rooms carrying a lot of luggage!
Downtown Huntsville is very clean and this hotel is well located. It is an easy walk to the Von Braun Center. There is a pretty lake across the street from the hotel with a walking path around it. The beautiful historical district in nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We will share this information with our team in order to service our guests better beginning now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel needs a little TLC as it is becoming dated, but it was clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great - the park across the street is a great place for afternoon walks. There is a Starbucks inside the lobby which was very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is old but the staff makes up for it!!!!! I am a priority club member, I recommend becoming a member, you will get access to the concierge floor (4th) with free appetizers, cocktails and breakfast. When you go to the restaurant make sure to ask for China to be your server she is the GREATEST!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.