We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am staying here for two nights. The king room is very spacious and clean. The location is very accessable to the highway and nice and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I agree with a previous reviewer about the holiday inn pillows though. I would definitely stay here again. Priceline did reserve me a double room instead of a king, but the front desk changed it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Check-in was slow but the front desk was helpful in suggesting hotels and providing information about how to get to places. The rooms are adequate. Although your are given a selection of pillows (firm or soft) they all felt the same to me. If you are a pillow snob like me bring your own. The room numbers are wacky so make sure you get clear directions to your room. For example, our room was in the 200's but was on the third floor. Many of the conference attendees were lost looking for their rooms carrying a lot of luggage!
Downtown Huntsville is very clean and this hotel is well located. It is an easy walk to the Von Braun Center. There is a pretty lake across the street from the hotel with a walking path around it. The beautiful historical district in nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, HR Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We will share this information with our team in order to service our guests better beginning now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel needs a little TLC as it is becoming dated, but it was clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great - the park across the street is a great place for afternoon walks. There is a Starbucks inside the lobby which was very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is old but the staff makes up for it!!!!! I am a priority club member, I recommend becoming a member, you will get access to the concierge floor (4th) with free appetizers, cocktails and breakfast. When you go to the restaurant make sure to ask for China to be your server she is the GREATEST!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed over on a Friday night. The staff was great- friendly and helpful. Even Housekeeping was prompt when we called for linens. Dinner in the hotel restuarant was great, and KIDS EAT FREE. The room was nice and clean. The door into the hall way didn't quite keep the passing noise out, and the bathroom outlets would hold plug-ins. Otherwise it was a nice stay. It is within walking distance of all the downtown venues and restaurants, and Big Spring Park. And they have a Starbuck's! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We requested on early check-in and arrived at 1:00 PM. The lobby was packed with people waiting. They weren't allowing anyone to check in before 3:00. We lined up at 2:45 and were about the 8th people in line. It was 3:50 before we got in despite 3 people working at the desk. They said it was from antiquated systems - they weren't down, just slow. As in 15 minutes to check in every room. Top that off with a bad attitude and the stay did not start off well. The rooms were what I expect at a Holiday Inn - 2 star quality. The room had hard mattress, little outdated, and very basic amenities.

Here's what put me over the edge. I called the front desk for extra towels at 8:00 PM and was told they were all in the housekeeping closet and they wouldn't be available until 8:00 AM...12 hours later. We were supposed to get free breakfast, and the lady at the front desk wouldn't give me a voucher because she was convinced she gave me one the night before.

It sounds like the hotel had never been busy before. They were completely unprepared to be booked despite being across the street from a conference center. I would NEVER stay here again. I would rather drive and find parking than deal with that level of incompetence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Truthfully, I would stay here again. Yes, the Embassy Suites next door is nicer - but the price difference is not worth it for my needs. The Holiday Inn is tired - broken tiles, stained floors, but it was, for the most part, fine. My chief complaint: 2 mornings out of 3, they did not service my room. The trash was not removed, bed not made, bathroom towels not replaced/cleaned. I had to call the front desk and have towels delivered late in the evening - TWICE!. After the second incident, I went to the desk to inquire on the situation. I received an apology and assurance it would not happen again. There was no offer of any sort of compensation and I didn't ask - but a complimentary drink at the bar would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.