We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, terrible everything else...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible everything else...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We requested on early check-in and arrived at 1:00 PM. The lobby was packed with people waiting. They weren't allowing anyone to check in before 3:00. We lined up at 2:45 and were about the 8th people in line. It was 3:50 before we got in despite 3 people working at the desk. They said it was from antiquated systems - they weren't down, just slow. As in 15 minutes to check in every room. Top that off with a bad attitude and the stay did not start off well. The rooms were what I expect at a Holiday Inn - 2 star quality. The room had hard mattress, little outdated, and very basic amenities.

Here's what put me over the edge. I called the front desk for extra towels at 8:00 PM and was told they were all in the housekeeping closet and they wouldn't be available until 8:00 AM...12 hours later. We were supposed to get free breakfast, and the lady at the front desk wouldn't give me a voucher because she was convinced she gave me one the night before.

It sounds like the hotel had never been busy before. They were completely unprepared to be booked despite being across the street from a conference center. I would NEVER stay here again. I would rather drive and find parking than deal with that level of incompetence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Truthfully, I would stay here again. Yes, the Embassy Suites next door is nicer - but the price difference is not worth it for my needs. The Holiday Inn is tired - broken tiles, stained floors, but it was, for the most part, fine. My chief complaint: 2 mornings out of 3, they did not service my room. The trash was not removed, bed not made, bathroom towels not replaced/cleaned. I had to call the front desk and have towels delivered late in the evening - TWICE!. After the second incident, I went to the desk to inquire on the situation. I received an apology and assurance it would not happen again. There was no offer of any sort of compensation and I didn't ask - but a complimentary drink at the bar would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here 1 night en route Heathrow with Titan Tour. Really enjoyed this hotel. Clean & tidy with good staff and good food. We had breakfast included and it was fine. Not the best southern breakfast we had in the week but OK.
Hotel seems in better condition than the Holiday Inn select in Memphis but the aircon was a killer! Had to turn it off during the night-too noisy.
Location though was excellent with views and access across the road to a really superb park.
Local folks were turning up after dark with picnics !! Good walking access to downtown when you understand the route and have time. A really clean city and would like to have stayed longer to appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn in downtown Huntsville on September 14, 2012. I had a very pleasant stay. My room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and the hotel's location in downtown Huntsville came at a reasonable price of under a hundred dollars. The hotel provided a washer and dryer with no extra charge for self - service laundry. I did not eat dinner here, but the breakfast buffet was fast and convenient. I had a lot of luggage that I did not want to leave in my station wagon, but the hotel had several luggage carts available, so this did not turn out to be a problem. For those of you who enjoy fine dining, a Ruth's Chris Steak House is within walking distance across the street. An impressive number of celebrities have stayed at this hotel, which used to be a Hilton. They include Elvis Presley, Little Richard, Tina Turner, and other notables whose photographs line the walls on the ground floor adjacent to the lobby. The hotel also allows guests to check out at twelve o'clock without a hassle. I would definitely stay here again the next time I find myself in the Huntsville area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As with many Holiday Inns, this one is an older property and it looks mildly tired. However, the room was clean and of an adequate size. If you're going to spend any time in your room working, don't expect a lot workspace. And avoid the restaurant.

That said, staff was pleasant and the rate was reasonable. But i would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a good value, solid hotel. I had to wait >30 minutes for a ride to HI from the airport, but getting a ride back was almost instantaneous, and free is hard to beat. Staff were friendly and efficient. Fitness room was a cut above the business-chain standard, with dumbbells and several weight machines available in addition to modern cardio equipment. [The second morning, I went for a jog in the park across the street, which was a nice change from windowless hotel gyms.] Business center was also clean and modern. Only major critique: breakfast at Lofton's was expensive and heavy, and my co-worker found a bug in her food. The second morning, though, I did much better at the in-lobby Starbucks. A shuttle driver also offered us a ride to our business meeting and then got lost/caused delay, but that wasn't 100% his fault. If work requires another visit to Huntsville, I'll definitely choose this property again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On August 25th, I checked out at the Holiday Inn downtown at noon and hours later realized I had neglected to iron my clothes for a wedding in the evening. I went to the hotel and talked with Bonita and Quince who were very helpful and kind to my silly mistake. In addition, our toilet stopped working in the middle of the night and a helpful maintenance worker gladly came to fix the issue. The entire staff from room service to maintenance appeared happy and seemed to enjoy serving the clientale. I would happily suggest this hotel to anyone staying in Hutsville based on their staff's treatment of clients. The hotel is not pretty, in fact it's hideous compared to the others around, but the service outweighed any I've received in my years of visiting hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.