We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel-super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here 1 night en route Heathrow with Titan Tour. Really enjoyed this hotel. Clean & tidy with good staff and good food. We had breakfast included and it was fine. Not the best southern breakfast we had in the week but OK.
Hotel seems in better condition than the Holiday Inn select in Memphis but the aircon was a killer! Had to turn it off during the night-too noisy.
Location though was excellent with views and access across the road to a really superb park.
Local folks were turning up after dark with picnics !! Good walking access to downtown when you understand the route and have time. A really clean city and would like to have stayed longer to appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn in downtown Huntsville on September 14, 2012. I had a very pleasant stay. My room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and the hotel's location in downtown Huntsville came at a reasonable price of under a hundred dollars. The hotel provided a washer and dryer with no extra charge for self - service laundry. I did not eat dinner here, but the breakfast buffet was fast and convenient. I had a lot of luggage that I did not want to leave in my station wagon, but the hotel had several luggage carts available, so this did not turn out to be a problem. For those of you who enjoy fine dining, a Ruth's Chris Steak House is within walking distance across the street. An impressive number of celebrities have stayed at this hotel, which used to be a Hilton. They include Elvis Presley, Little Richard, Tina Turner, and other notables whose photographs line the walls on the ground floor adjacent to the lobby. The hotel also allows guests to check out at twelve o'clock without a hassle. I would definitely stay here again the next time I find myself in the Huntsville area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As with many Holiday Inns, this one is an older property and it looks mildly tired. However, the room was clean and of an adequate size. If you're going to spend any time in your room working, don't expect a lot workspace. And avoid the restaurant.

That said, staff was pleasant and the rate was reasonable. But i would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a good value, solid hotel. I had to wait >30 minutes for a ride to HI from the airport, but getting a ride back was almost instantaneous, and free is hard to beat. Staff were friendly and efficient. Fitness room was a cut above the business-chain standard, with dumbbells and several weight machines available in addition to modern cardio equipment. [The second morning, I went for a jog in the park across the street, which was a nice change from windowless hotel gyms.] Business center was also clean and modern. Only major critique: breakfast at Lofton's was expensive and heavy, and my co-worker found a bug in her food. The second morning, though, I did much better at the in-lobby Starbucks. A shuttle driver also offered us a ride to our business meeting and then got lost/caused delay, but that wasn't 100% his fault. If work requires another visit to Huntsville, I'll definitely choose this property again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On August 25th, I checked out at the Holiday Inn downtown at noon and hours later realized I had neglected to iron my clothes for a wedding in the evening. I went to the hotel and talked with Bonita and Quince who were very helpful and kind to my silly mistake. In addition, our toilet stopped working in the middle of the night and a helpful maintenance worker gladly came to fix the issue. The entire staff from room service to maintenance appeared happy and seemed to enjoy serving the clientale. I would happily suggest this hotel to anyone staying in Hutsville based on their staff's treatment of clients. The hotel is not pretty, in fact it's hideous compared to the others around, but the service outweighed any I've received in my years of visiting hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, mostly due to the excellent location and good value. I was traveling on business and was able to get the government Per Diem rate. The hotel is located in Downtown Huntsville, which as far as I can tell, is the only part of Huntsville that does not consist primarily of parking lots and strip malls. The hotel is directly across from the beautiful Big Spring Park at the historic heart of the city. The area felt practically bohemian with regular live music, several restaurants and bars in walking distance, and a diverse crowd.

The hotel itself was what you expect from a Holiday Inn, older but in relatively good shape. The staff was courteous and generally helpful. Rooms were large and comfortable. Overall, it is just what one would expect from a solid 3 to 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent two nights at the hotel,it is very convenient to downtown. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet and the service was good. A couple of minor problems, the ice machine on the second floor was not working, but the bartender in the main lobby was more then willing to fill our tub. We also didn't have cold water, but after mentioning it to the front desk they had it adjusted while we were at dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
America's Best Inn Huntsville
America's Best Inn Huntsville
#41 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Hampton Inn Huntsville
#14 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Village of Providence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Address: 401 Williams Ave, Huntsville, AL 35801 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.