We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very comfortable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3788 University Dr. NW, Huntsville, AL 35816 (Formerly Comfort Inn University)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not very comfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The location of this motel is terrible. It's right next to a teenage night club with pounding music. The room was well furnished but cleanliness is questionable. I suspect there may be a bedbug problem. I awoke with mysterious itchy bumps on my back. Rowdies, drunks, and pool patrons congregated at the pool splashing and frolicking until the late night hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
2
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Front desk was courteous upon check-in. When I arrived at my room, I discovered it was not a "preferred location" which was unusual considering reservations were very light that evening. I was exhausted from a long trip and did not request a room change. Second floor location, had to park on other side of building, access was very poor. Found myself worrying about my car all night, which I could not see. The room was below my expectations. Bedding appeared "worn" and bathroom was dirty. Tub drain very slow. Located in a "hotel zone", I passed it twice before finding it. Would not revisit.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was a perfectly adequate venue for a quick, overnight stay. The room was tidy and the in-room coffee bar was well appointed. The bathroom also had a strong, hot shower. The breakfast room was a standard affair but more than adequate for a quick meal. I particularly liked the hard-boiled eggs on offer. This was a simple touch that gave the breakfast a little more variety than the standard waffle and bagel affair. Management was friendly and helpful in resolving an inadvertent billing error which I genuinely appreciated. I'd use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Stayed at the Quality Inn Huntsville (they must have changed brands recently) for 1 night in January 2008. There are several positives to this hotel. It is very easy to find and convenient to all freeways. My room was extremely clean and seemed to have all new furnishings and bedding. The bathroom was clean and fresh. They have a computer set up in the office so you can check your email (no printing though). There's plenty of free parking right outside of the rooms. You're right on the main road with tons of shopping and restaurants nearby, some within walking distance. The area is safe and nice, pretty suburban. The staff were friendly and helpful. They serve an expansive, yummy breakfast in a little room with a large TV, and the woman working there is really nice. As for the downsides, the lobby has zero atmosphere or decoration. It's actually pretty depressing. The grounds also have no personality, and the brick of the building was old and unattractive. My room faced the brick wall around the pool, which I didn't care for. As I mentioned, the whole place just seemed kind of depressing and down. It's adequate for a stopover, but you would never want to spend much time there. I stayed for free using rewards points, but I wouldn't pay more than $40 or $50 for a room, and I probably wouldn't stay there again myself. But if you need a clean, decent place with helpful staff, a computer station, and a good breakfast to start your day, you'll be fine here. Please email me with questions!!!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable room, computer in lobby, great breakfast, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — No atmosphere in lobby, place just had a depressing feel.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2004

I spent one (1) night at comfort inn university, 3788 university dr.Huntsville,Ala. Their service was unfriendly, Out of several entrances, there was only one (1) open.(2) At 8:00 am a maid came banging loudly on my door screaming "cleaning lady". Other men were complaining also. I will stay at that motel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 3788 University Dr. NW, Huntsville, AL 35816 (Formerly Comfort Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Huntsville Quality Inn
Quality Inn Huntsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.