We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, but a little dowdy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FairfieldInn.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Enterprise Way, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 54 hotels in Huntsville
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, but a little dowdy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The housekeeping staff definitely do a good job, but this hotel looks a bit dowdy, the elevator shudders too much, and everything feels like it's getting to be renovation time. The breakfast was a bit disappointing -- instead of having a hot tray of scrambled eggs or something similar, there is a mini-fridge with Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches next to the microwave.

That said, there's nothing objectionable, it's a good value for Huntsville, and the prices are consistently reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
5
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sylacauga, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently stayed here with a ball team for a tournament. This hotel is definitely for business travelers and not families with children. Management was very uncooperative with our families upon the expected check out time. We had asked for late check out due to the fact that we did not play until 5:00 in the afternoon. They assured us it would not be a problem. The problem arose though when their idea of late check out was 12:00 noon instead of 11:00 a.m.! We had occupied approximetely 15 rooms for 3 nights. A little consideration or attempt at accomodating our party would have been appreciated. They could have offered to let us hand out in a conference room or at least keep a few room for the boys to rest in and stay cool! They also complained that our boys ruined the pool by jumping in and displacing too much water! No where did it say that water was to remain in the pool! Nor did it say that you couldn't jump into the pool! They are kids! They weren't diving! It was a fairly clean hotel in a very nice section of town with access to activities and restaurants. Just not meant for families or large groups of teams to be guests! They also complained that the elevator was broken by our kids. The elevator was making weird noises on Friday evening when we arrived prior to our ball team arriving. I think they just don't care for crowds especially with children!

Room Tip: If you have children, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for comments. Fairfield Huntsville is committed to doing all we can to accommodate our guests. We do regret that our efforts did not meet your expectations. Being that your group needed a late check out of after 7:00pm, on a night that was near sell-out, we made every effort to assist your party in a way that would not require an additional night's charge as requested. Normally, the latest check-out allowed without being charged is 2:00pm.

We were also very glad to know the kids enjoyed our pool. It was never our intention to place any blame on your group for any problems experienced during your stay. Our only goal was to resolve any issues as quickly as possible to ensure continued use of our facilities.

Thank you once again for taking the time to express your concerns.

Fairfield Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is not what I expected from a Marriott property. More like Comfort Inn in the rooms. Furnishings are cheap, pillow cases smelled like someone had slept on them and had not been washed. I could go on... It wasnt horrible, but when you pay for a Marriott you expect a certain level of room. This wasn't it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel was quite easy to get to being just of Hwy 72. Nice to have an IHOP, Five Guys and Jason's Deli just across the parking lot. My only complaints, the bed was a bit too soft for my tastes and the elevator always made me nervous with its sounds and shaking as it reached the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is about 2 miles from the University of Alabama-Huntsville and surrounded by interesting restaurants & places to visit.

The room & lobby was very clean and spacious. There were enough outlets for electronics, good wifi signal, nice desk & chair/ottoman combo. The bed was very comfortable - pillow top & comforter, plenty of pillows. The room was cleaned to perfection each of the 3 days I stayed.

The breakfast service was one of the best free ones I've had: fresh fruit and high quality fruit cups, yogurt, Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits, waffles with strawberries & whip cream, assorted breads & pastries, hot & cold cereals....it was a wonderful start to the day.

I would stay here again. Clean, quiet, good atmosphere, location & food for a great price.

Room Tip: They gave me a room so I could see my motorcycle from the window, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice clean place, rooms were same as any other Fairfield. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was good too. Hotel is situated very close to good places to eat and some shopping. I'd stay here again. There's a very good Mexican Restaurant by the hotel and a Five Guys in the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The staff was friendly/helpful, very clean, beds comfy, no outside noise and great location. However, we had a little one with milk and no fridge, and there were white sheer panels over the windows. You could see out and everyone could see in. We took an extra sheet, bought clips and covered it, but this made little difference. The safety aspect bothered us more (people being able to see our kids), but also the street lights were right in our eyes. We were on the 1st floor, even with the cars and people, and could see them all. The milk spoiled and because there was a ball tournament, the good hotels were booked leaving no other option but to stay. We paid $109+ tax + clips+ more milk and midweek, and it was worth about $59. It is very old and our room was very small, no room for a sofa or fridge like the pics show. Don't expect nice decor, we didn't even have a picture on the wall. Disappointed this is my first negative review to write. Hope it's my last. #mariottcandobetter

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, ask ahead of time. Unless you want people to see you, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Huntsville Hotel
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
Fairfield Huntsville
Huntsville Fairfield Inn
Huntsville Fairfield
Address: 1385 Enterprise Way, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsville Fairfield Inn is located in the beautiful Cummings Research Park area, just off of Hwy. 72 and within minutes of I-65 and I-565 in the largest city of northern Alabama. For fun and entertainment, the US Space and Rocket Center, Redstone Arsenal, Marshall Spaceflight Center, and Huntsville Botanical Gardens are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.