We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Suitable for Families with Children!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Enterprise Way, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Sylacauga, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not Suitable for Families with Children!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently stayed here with a ball team for a tournament. This hotel is definitely for business travelers and not families with children. Management was very uncooperative with our families upon the expected check out time. We had asked for late check out due to the fact that we did not play until 5:00 in the afternoon. They assured us it would not be a problem. The problem arose though when their idea of late check out was 12:00 noon instead of 11:00 a.m.! We had occupied approximetely 15 rooms for 3 nights. A little consideration or attempt at accomodating our party would have been appreciated. They could have offered to let us hand out in a conference room or at least keep a few room for the boys to rest in and stay cool! They also complained that our boys ruined the pool by jumping in and displacing too much water! No where did it say that water was to remain in the pool! Nor did it say that you couldn't jump into the pool! They are kids! They weren't diving! It was a fairly clean hotel in a very nice section of town with access to activities and restaurants. Just not meant for families or large groups of teams to be guests! They also complained that the elevator was broken by our kids. The elevator was making weird noises on Friday evening when we arrived prior to our ball team arriving. I think they just don't care for crowds especially with children!

Room Tip: If you have children, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for comments. Fairfield Huntsville is committed to doing all we can to accommodate our guests. We do regret that our efforts did not meet your expectations. Being that your group needed a late check out of after 7:00pm, on a night that was near sell-out, we made every effort to assist your party in a way that would not require an additional night's charge as requested. Normally, the latest check-out allowed without being charged is 2:00pm.

We were also very glad to know the kids enjoyed our pool. It was never our intention to place any blame on your group for any problems experienced during your stay. Our only goal was to resolve any issues as quickly as possible to ensure continued use of our facilities.

Thank you once again for taking the time to express your concerns.

Fairfield Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
9
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is not what I expected from a Marriott property. More like Comfort Inn in the rooms. Furnishings are cheap, pillow cases smelled like someone had slept on them and had not been washed. I could go on... It wasnt horrible, but when you pay for a Marriott you expect a certain level of room. This wasn't it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel was quite easy to get to being just of Hwy 72. Nice to have an IHOP, Five Guys and Jason's Deli just across the parking lot. My only complaints, the bed was a bit too soft for my tastes and the elevator always made me nervous with its sounds and shaking as it reached the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is about 2 miles from the University of Alabama-Huntsville and surrounded by interesting restaurants & places to visit.

The room & lobby was very clean and spacious. There were enough outlets for electronics, good wifi signal, nice desk & chair/ottoman combo. The bed was very comfortable - pillow top & comforter, plenty of pillows. The room was cleaned to perfection each of the 3 days I stayed.

The breakfast service was one of the best free ones I've had: fresh fruit and high quality fruit cups, yogurt, Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits, waffles with strawberries & whip cream, assorted breads & pastries, hot & cold cereals....it was a wonderful start to the day.

I would stay here again. Clean, quiet, good atmosphere, location & food for a great price.

Room Tip: They gave me a room so I could see my motorcycle from the window, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice clean place, rooms were same as any other Fairfield. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was good too. Hotel is situated very close to good places to eat and some shopping. I'd stay here again. There's a very good Mexican Restaurant by the hotel and a Five Guys in the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The staff was friendly/helpful, very clean, beds comfy, no outside noise and great location. However, we had a little one with milk and no fridge, and there were white sheer panels over the windows. You could see out and everyone could see in. We took an extra sheet, bought clips and covered it, but this made little difference. The safety aspect bothered us more (people being able to see our kids), but also the street lights were right in our eyes. We were on the 1st floor, even with the cars and people, and could see them all. The milk spoiled and because there was a ball tournament, the good hotels were booked leaving no other option but to stay. We paid $109+ tax + clips+ more milk and midweek, and it was worth about $59. It is very old and our room was very small, no room for a sofa or fridge like the pics show. Don't expect nice decor, we didn't even have a picture on the wall. Disappointed this is my first negative review to write. Hope it's my last. #mariottcandobetter

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, ask ahead of time. Unless you want people to see you, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel has a great location but it is a little dated on the inside. The hotel also advertised that there were refrigerators in the room, which is not true. It apparently has refrigerators in some of the rooms. Normally this isnt a big deal but we were traveling with a little one and some of his milk and snacks needs to be refrigerated. When we asked they said they could move one into our room the next night, but that when we checked in all of the refrigerator rooms were taken. We never got a refrigerator. The selection at breakfast was ok, your "hot" items included either a make your own waffle or frozen breakfast sandwich. So not much selection or quality. The only gripe we had about the room was that the sink area was tiny, even for just my wife and I it was very crowded. For not too much more there are plenty of other places to stay and we probabyl wouldnt stay here again. Last note was this it was annoying that the weekday rate was higher than the weekend, which i assume is to get the business travelers since the hotel is so close to the research park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville

Address: 1385 Enterprise Way, Huntsville, AL 35806
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for great hotel accommodations in Huntsville, you'll love our Fairfield Inn. Our Huntsville, Alabama hotel is ideally located near the US Space & Rocket Center and Redstone Arsenal - just minutes from Boeing, SAIC, Lockheed, and other Cummings Research Park businesses. Enjoy upscale shopping and dining at Bridge Street Town Centre and natural beauty at Huntsville Botanical Gardens - both within three miles. Or explore downtown Huntsville, just seven miles away. Our Huntsville hotel features spacious rooms with king-size or double beds, ample work desks, and free Wi-Fi. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast - featuring hot items such as scrambled eggs and sausage. Spend the day on the greens at nearby Hampton Cove on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. Drop by our business center to get directions or catch up on emails. Or unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. Few Huntsville hotels can match our comfort, style, and value - so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
Fairfield Huntsville
Huntsville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.