We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3810 University Drive, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed two nights...Check-in was very quick and the front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. They were happy to provide directions or recommend places to eat nearby. Hotel is less than a minute from I-565 so it was easy to get around the area.

Our room was in the "main" building with the lobby down the hall. We had a king sized bed and pull out sofa...plenty of room for two people. The bathroom was adequate size for two people, but it is on the small side. However, our room was clean and the cleaning staff was also very friendly and provided extra towels without any problem.

The breakfast was in the second building (short walk across parking lot) and it was great. There were two staff members in the breakfast area each morning keeping it well stocked for late risers. I have a picky eater, but even she was pleased with the choices.

The biggest con to this hotel is the wifi.....the signal was very weak throughout the hotel. There is a "business center" available, but it is really just a desktop computer and printer located in the back corner of the lobby. This was not a huge problem for us, but I proabably would not be able to stay here on a business trip due to the lack of reliable internet access.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room. First floor rooms look directly on to the parking lot and the curtains must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear CRCMTT,

We thank you for taking time to post your kind review. Our staff strives to make every guest feel welcome and we really appreciate your recognition of our friendliness and service. Our Express Start breakfast is a feature at Holiday Inn Express and we are glad you enjoyed it. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with all the staff.

We know that reliable Internet service is important and I am sorry that you experienced a problem. I apologize for the inconvenience you were caused and we will certainly investigate what may have caused to problem to prevent a future occurrence.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Huntsville. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
8
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING! biscuits and gravy each morning, fresh fruit, excellent coffee, juice, yogurts, cereals, muffins, bread, bagels, etc, something for everyone. I love this place and have stayed here a few times during my business trips to this area. I highly recommend it. The hallways are bit shabby, but the rooms are clean, well lighted, very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ZeeBabester,

Thank you for your 5 star rating! We are glad to hear how much you enjoy our Express Start breakfast and appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have chosen our hotel for your accommodations in Huntsville and thank you for your glowing recommendation.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Huntsville.

Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the former Sheraton and they spent big bucks on a renovation and did not include elevators. 100/300 series rooms are ground floor. The breakfast is in building 2 while checking is in building 1. The rooms that you want are the 300 rooms, ground floor where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Underpressure,
We appreciate your favorable marks regarding our rooms and cleanliness but I am sorry that we did not meet your highest expectations. I apologize if our lack of elevator service caused you an inconvenience. Most of the time we are able to accommodate first floor requests made in advance and our staff is always willing to help in any situation. I do also appreciate you recognizing the major renovations that we did make. Our location, however, is about one mile east. We were formerly the Holiday Inn Space Center.
We thank you for staying with us. I do hope you will give us the honor of serving you again during your next visit to Huntsville.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Service was excellent, happy employees, room clean, location excellent. Nice touch: evening reception. Breakfast super as usual for a hi express. Only problem - crappy wifi. What is it with hotels that's cant invest in simple wifi that bloody well works?!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Gasp262,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We appreciate your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed the manager's reception in addition to our other offerings. I am sorry you had problems with the wi-fi and we will certainly take a look at what may have caused the problem. We thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Negatives: Room quite small, very dated facility overall, poor soundproofing, busy hwy location.

Positives: Breakfast ample & tasty. Friendly staff.Amenable to late checkout.

I expected a little more for the price, and could have paid less elsewhere in Huntsville for the same.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sojournology,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to your dissatisfaction with our facilities. I do appreciate your kind remarks regarding our breakfast and staff. Our staff works very hard to provide excellent customer service and a clean, comfortable room. I do hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you should you return to Huntsville.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is actually a nice hotel and I enjoy staying here. There are a few things you should know though. There are no elevators. The rooms numbered 100 and 300 are on the ground floor. Those numbered 200 and 400 are on the second floor. There is a hot and cold breakfast in the mornings and Mon-Thurs a managers happy hour with snacks, sodas, well drinks, beer ,and wine. I wish they would extend it to seven days like most other chains do, but for some reason they haven't. They have a nice pool area and a large open tree-filled area with picnic tables next to it. The only thing lacking would be some bar-b-que pits. The rooms are decent and the staff is friendly. The grounds are fairly well maintained. There is only one snack machine area and that is located by the main office area. There are soda machines at the end of the halls, but I have only found one ice machine per building. All in all though, nice place to spend the night-or week!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms in the 300 and 400 range face the pool. Smoking rooms are available upon reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lee M,
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and thank you for your comments. I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy the amenities of our hotel and appreciate you sharing your observations for others. We thank you for your recommendation and I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Every staff I encountered....front desk, van driver, wait staff, maintenance...were extremely friendly and helpful, and genuine, not just putting on a good front. The room was comfortable, and the courtesy van was very convenient!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear MMHutch,
Thank you for your extremely kind remarks regarding our hotel staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as I know they will appreciate them as well. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can share our hospitality with you again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Hampton Inn Huntsville
#14 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#40 of 53 in Huntsville
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Huntsville
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive

Address: 3810 University Drive, Huntsville, AL 35816
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently accessible to I-565, approximately 12 miles from the Hsv Intl Airport, two miles from downtown Huntsville. Hotel amenities include Express Start breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, comp airport transportation, free local calls, laundry/dry cleaning services, fitness room, free access to full service gym facility, free parking, business center, 61 cable channels with Showtime and pay-per-view. You are welcome to join us for our Manager's reception M-T 5-7 p.m. Guest rooms feature cable TVs, coffeemakers, hairdryers, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, irons and ironing boards, in-room movies, individual climate controls, two dual-line phones, voicemail and work desks with lamps. There are also 28 two-room suites available. Local attractions include the U. S. Space and Rocket Center, Hsv. Botanical Gardens, Constitution Hall Park, Kiwanis Metroplex, Early Works Museum, Hsv. Dragway. Partner in Excellence Award 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hunstville-University Drive
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.