We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn price, but Motel 6 quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3808 University Drive, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn price, but Motel 6 quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Negatives: Room quite small, very dated facility overall, poor soundproofing, busy hwy location.

Positives: Breakfast ample & tasty. Friendly staff.Amenable to late checkout.

I expected a little more for the price, and could have paid less elsewhere in Huntsville for the same.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sojournology,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to your dissatisfaction with our facilities. I do appreciate your kind remarks regarding our breakfast and staff. Our staff works very hard to provide excellent customer service and a clean, comfortable room. I do hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you should you return to Huntsville.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
8
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is actually a nice hotel and I enjoy staying here. There are a few things you should know though. There are no elevators. The rooms numbered 100 and 300 are on the ground floor. Those numbered 200 and 400 are on the second floor. There is a hot and cold breakfast in the mornings and Mon-Thurs a managers happy hour with snacks, sodas, well drinks, beer ,and wine. I wish they would extend it to seven days like most other chains do, but for some reason they haven't. They have a nice pool area and a large open tree-filled area with picnic tables next to it. The only thing lacking would be some bar-b-que pits. The rooms are decent and the staff is friendly. The grounds are fairly well maintained. There is only one snack machine area and that is located by the main office area. There are soda machines at the end of the halls, but I have only found one ice machine per building. All in all though, nice place to spend the night-or week!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms in the 300 and 400 range face the pool. Smoking rooms are available upon reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lee M,
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and thank you for your comments. I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy the amenities of our hotel and appreciate you sharing your observations for others. We thank you for your recommendation and I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Every staff I encountered....front desk, van driver, wait staff, maintenance...were extremely friendly and helpful, and genuine, not just putting on a good front. The room was comfortable, and the courtesy van was very convenient!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear MMHutch,
Thank you for your extremely kind remarks regarding our hotel staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as I know they will appreciate them as well. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can share our hospitality with you again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Love the breakfast, bathroom smelled but staff moved us to a different room quickly! Pool clean. Easy check in and fast checkout . Restaurants close by!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you were caused due to the problem you encountered but am I am pleased to know our staff responded quickly. I am also glad you enjoyed our Express Start breakfast and our pool. We thank you for staying with us and hope you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We would have preferred the Embassy Suites but opted for a cheaper spot. The staff was warm and inviting, the rooms clean and cool. PERFECT!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Audrasena,
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you chose to stay with us and appreciate your kind remarks. I am glad we were able to make your stay "perfect". Please come back to see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysian Fields, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you are, like me, a heavy duty Holiday Inn user, you will find this place different. It must have started life as a different brand motel because there is nothing about it that is typical. I would think this would be a pretty good place to stay if you had kids simply because of the court yard...they could run around and burn off some energy
The staff was super nice and helpfull...no issues there!
Rooms are on the smaller side as compared to modern H.I. and the lay out of the motel is unique to say the least but, well, it is interesting and kind of maze-like.
I liked the dining room...warm and large. Not like the modern ones.
If you are trying to impress family by putting them up here...maybe skip it but if a biz traveler try it. You might like the weirdness of it, lol

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Tim H,
Thank you for your comments and your praise of our hotel staff. We do have families and business travelers as well that like our courtyard area and our large swimming pool. I am glad you also enjoyed our breakfast area. It's a great place to unwind in the evening during our Manager's Reception and also large enough for families and groups for breakfast.
We thank you for staying at our unique hotel. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We checked into this hotel very late at night as a layover stop on the way home from Florida. As we got off the exit, we drove right past it, so be prepared. Checkin went smoothly and our room was clean, beds were fantastic, and the decor was nice. My ownly complaint was the walls must be VERY thin. At 7 a.m. we were awoken to our neighbor's gospel music and chatter. On our way to breakfast , I noticed the cleaning people were socializing A LOT with each other, but who cares, my room was clean, so I guess they get the job done. Breakfast was wonderful, many hot items...love the cinnamon rolls! The area was spacious and my kids enjoyed watching cartoons on the TV. The grounds were beautiful with a lot of flowers. Wish we could have stayed longer.Free Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad your stay with us was a pleasant one. Our cinnamon rolls are a signature item for us and I am happy you enjoyed the breakfast as well the other aspects of your stay. I am sorry you were bothered by the noise from another guest and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon and perhaps you can stay longer next time.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive

Address: 3808 University Drive, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently accessible to I-565, approximately 12 miles from the Hsv Intl Airport, two miles from downtown Huntsville. Hotel amenities include Express Start breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, comp airport transportation, free local calls, laundry/dry cleaning services, fitness room, free access to full service gym facility, free parking, business center, 61 cable channels with Showtime and pay-per-view. You are welcome to join us for our Manager's reception M-T 5-7 p.m. Guest rooms feature cable TVs, coffeemakers, hairdryers, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, irons and ironing boards, in-room movies, individual climate controls, two dual-line phones, voicemail and work desks with lamps. There are also 28 two-room suites available. Local attractions include the U. S. Space and Rocket Center, Hsv. Botanical Gardens, Constitution Hall Park, Kiwanis Metroplex, Early Works Museum, Hsv. Dragway. Partner in Excellence Award 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hunstville-University Drive
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.