We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ol' Heidelberg Restaurant

Ol' Heidelberg Restaurant
6125 University Dr., Huntsville, AL 35806
256-922-0556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 511 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Coloma, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Was in town on business and decided to try Ol' Heidelberg. Atmosphere pretty good, nice to see the waitress in dirndl dress. Our waitress seemed a bit grumpy the whole night though. Cheese platter for an appetizer, nothing special sliced cheeses from a packet, waitress did not explain what the cheeses were, nice grapes and strawberries on the platter as well. Draft beer was very nice a Heffeweizen I believe. I had a schnitzel that was supposed to have a Marsala wine sauce, the schnitzel was very nice and had a nice crunchy coating but the wine sauce was thick and I could not discern any type of Marsala flavor in it. Saw the dessert case upon entry and had to have a piece of the German chocolate cake, huge piece, very nice.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    73
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cullman, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average German Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

The food was pricey for the small portions. Nothing really bad to say, on the other hand, there was nothing exceptional either.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Poor service and cold food and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We came here for a birthday dinner and left very disappointed. The service was not good this evening and all the servers to include the person running the credit cards were all in chaos. The cooks behind the window were all yelling at the servers and the servers and manager, not sure what she was really, were all yelling back in front of customers trying to enjoy the evening. Maybe this is what they do in Germany but I would expect to still get our food in less than an hour, hot and with a smile. We have been here in the past and while the service has always been mediocre the food was always good. It will be a long while before we go back as I can get the same food across town with better service for less money.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good atmosphere but a little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The food was authentic, but a little on the pricy side for what you get. Service was a little slow, but I suspect it was just our server. The atmosphere was charming and everyone was friendly. If I go again it will be for lunch, when its not so crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great local gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The authentic German menu is just one of the treasures of this restaurant. The dessert case catches your eye as you enter the door and the friendly staff makes your meal an event to remember. I was surprised to see salmon on the menu, but was pleased with how it was prepared. My husband stayed with the more traditional German choices and was very pleased with his meal. He has eaten at Ol Heidleberg many times, while this was my second visit. We have always been very pleased with the menu, service and quality/portion size of the meals.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ol' Heidelberg Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ol' Heidelberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol' Heidelberg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.