We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but could have gotten a better deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Governors House Drive, Huntsville, AL 35805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean but could have gotten a better deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

It was a friendly hotel but the breakfast for $9.95 was not a savings. I could have stayed at a cheaper hotel with free breakfast. Our room was right by the lobby so a bit noisy at times. The room was fresh and clean. I would stay again if the price is lower or breakfast is free. The heater was also broken in the hot tub area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your response, we reliaze a lot of hotels include breakfast but they serve immitation eggs and pre cooked food, we pride ourself on having cooked to order fresh eggs, omlets, bisquets and gravey and a large variety of other options to coose from all for $9.95.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are in our area.

Sincerly
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    80
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
80
39
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Checked in at 3:30pm. Smoking room with two beds is impossible to find these days so we stayed here. First there was something wrong with the thermostat. We set at 72 and it was ice cold in our room. The 'fridge' is in pieces and we had to tip it to stop making a horrible noise so we could sleep. Toilet runs and stops, runs and stops, was leaky. Room enough to sleep 4 adults has only one chair at the desk? No ash tray in smoking room and we asked twice to have one sent up but never got one, so we ended up using a drinking glass. After 12 hours on the road we were looking forward to using the hot tub alas the heater was not working so it was only a tub. Room was half the size of Holiday inn. Bath was WAY too small for the price. Not entirely sure how clean one bed was but we smokers get the tatterd linens. Price was right but room was very wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Please accept our apology for the issues you encountered, I am happy to let you know that our Hot Tub is repaired and running great, If you are in the area again please call me and I would
love to give you a complimentary night stay.
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed two nights, ate in the restaurant for both breakfasts...omelets, grits, biscuits, ate dinner the first night, too. Clean, beautiful. They are about to redo, but it's great just like it is...very well maintined, great staff.

Room Tip: Ours was great; bet they all are . Good quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. Our staff reads all comments and loves knowing they gave good customer service to our guests.

Sincerely
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I frequent Hilton's and like HGI because they are consistently above average: beds are some of the most comfortable hotel beds you will find and it is convenient having restaurant and bar on property. What stands out with this HGI was the wonderful smile and welcome when I walked in the lobby! Koran was at the front desk with a thousand watt smile true southern hospitality. She checked me in promptly and even found me an upgraded room (I am a Hilton Honors frequent traveler). Room (actually a suite) is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in at HGI. Lighting in room is excellent, hotel has 32" flat panel TV's in living area and bedroom. TV's have over 50 channels available. Microwave and small refrigerator are in room. Highly recommend this hotel. Ask for room number ending in 16 for a suite like this one.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "16" are nice suites. These are on the back of the hotel facing away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. Our staff reads all comments and loves knowing they gave good customer service to our guests.

Sincerely
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

You can actually see the rockets of the Space Center from the parking lot, which is cool. The property itself is consistent with most HGI's - new, quality, friendly, clean, efficient, and effective. Absolutely nothing wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. Our staff reads all comments and loves knowing they gave good customer service to our guests.

Sincerely
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stay in Hilton brand hotels frequently and this one was not disappointing. The front desk staff were particularly friendly. The hotel was very clean. The housekeeping staff wrote a nice thank you note for the tip we left. Generally a pleasant experience. :)

Room Tip: I guess I'd ask for a view of the space center next time instead of a view of the neighboring ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. Our staff reads all comments and loves knowing they gave good customer service to our guests.

Sincerely
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is my 3rd or 4th stay at the HGI on Governors Drive. The hotel remains in great shape, clean and without noticeable wear. The breakfast area is excellent - the fruit is especially fresh & the selection is great on all items. All of the staff was exceptionally friendly and cordial. I have stayed in 3 hotels in the Huntsville area & this is my favorite.

Tip: If you like a darker room ask for an odd numbered room to avoid the side that faces the other hotel parking lot & it's bright lights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the odd side are darker at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center

Address: 4801 Governors House Drive, Huntsville, AL 35805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#11 Family Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 565 and less than one mile from the U.S. Space & Rocket Center, Huntsville Botanical Gardens, the University of Alabama-Huntsville and the main gate to Redstone Arsenal. Business travelers will enjoy our Huntsville hotel being close to Cummings Research Park as well as a variety of shopping and dining options at Bridge Street Town Center. Companies with offices near our hotel include Boeing, Telcordia, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon and Northrop Grumman. This hotel has two event rooms totaling 1,150 sq. ft. that can be divided for smaller functions. Hold a meeting for 10 potential clients in our Apollo Boardroom or a reception for 90 guests in our Saturn Room. Ask our banquet staff for catering suggestions. Select from 101 guest rooms and suites, featuring two queen-sized beds or one king-sized adjustable Garden Sleep System(R) bed. Each room is furnished with a TV, a microwave, coffeemaker, and refrigerator. Stay connected to family and colleagues via complimentary WiFi. Order evening room service or dine at the Great American Grill restaurant. Unwind with a drink from the Pavilion Lounge on the patio or a workout in the pool or fitness center. Soothe tired muscles in our whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Hotel Huntsville
Hilton Huntsville
Huntsville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.