We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosie's Mexican Cantina

Rosie's Mexican Cantina
7540 Memorial Pkwy SW, Ste AA, Huntsville, AL 35802-2215
256-382-3232
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 494 restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Madison, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lil' Rosies as it's called in the immediate surrounding area, is a great lunch place! I love the mexican lasagna! All the other food is great too and you can get in and out in a lunch hour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    116
    55
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Bland and forgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful building and lots of cars parked outside, I was really excited to try the food. I have lived in Mexico and Texas, frankly I prefer Tex Mex.
Salsa- very bland. Not only was it equatable to jarred spaghetti sauce for kids, but it had no flavor. Tortillas- really good, served warm and thick. I had the Shrimp Fajitas for one- not super cheap at about $16.00 and I found myself perplexed by shrimp served tail on for fajitas? I didn't know it was my job to pull the shrimp out one at a time and cut the tail off to build my fajita. Very few shrimp, way too much onion and peppers- which were soggy and again, had no flavor. I don't have much else to say about this place except that the restaurant was busy and full of people. It would appear that some people really like it. I would pass it up for something less commercial and more authentic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
1 review
“Great food, excellent service in a friendly authentic Mexican evironment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Margaritas on the rocks to start. Great portion and well-prepared. Chile releno one of the best I've run into. Often have a wait time that's shorter than the estimate. You get your money's worth at this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sort of bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food was not what I'd call authentic Mexican (7 yrs in San Antonio), and fairly bland for Tex-Mex. Margaritas are small and watery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OooohhhMG fresh made flour tortillas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I can't get away from their fajitas!! The steak is the best, tender and perfectly seasoned. I've tried their version of their chimichanga and it too is good but i just can't get away from the steak fajitas! Service is always great and fast! The chips can be a bit greesy in my opinion, but over all this is my favorite spot for steak fajitas in Huntsville!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's Mexican Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosie's Mexican Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.