We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galaxy of lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntsville Botanical Garden

Huntsville Botanical Garden
4747 Bob Wallace Ave, Huntsville, AL 35805
256-830-4447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Huntsville
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Galaxy of lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was absolutely magical! We went there on Dec 31st and enjoyed the decorations very much. Thank you!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    61
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Galaxy of lights very unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The only problem was people behind me being in a hurry. For $20 the designs are very well lad out. Several spots for beautiful pictures.
The people at gate were super nice. We are looking forward to coming in Spring and enjoying the gardens.
The review about going through the parking lot...don't know how that would have happened. There were people with flashlights pointing you to correct route.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridianville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Galaxy of Lights -- Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I would not recommend seeing the galaxy of lights this year. They redesigned the car flow lines. In the past, once you cleared the ticket booth/gate you intermediately entered the galaxy of lights. This year is different. Once you clear the gates they have you zig-zag through their large parking lot and then you finally get to the lights. Image our surprise when we cleared the gates just to be taken on a wild ride of the parking lot which lasted about one hour and twenty-seven minutes. Someone probably came up with this creative design to maximize car volume and botanical gardens profits but at the customers' expense. It was disappointing and not worth our time or money. We won't be returning next year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nice ... It is really picking up in the last few years... Both spring and winter are my favorite time

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Saturday night on December 7th we paid the $20 admission to drive through the "Galaxy of Lights" sponsored by the Huntsville Botanical Garden. It runs Thanksgiving through December 31, 5:30-9 p.m. with some exceptions. Passenger Cars are $20 per car up to 10 people, Vans and buses are $20 for 10 people and $3 for each additional person. Many major cities across the US have these Christmas Light Display Events in their popular parks and this one is average. Pay attention as you drive in so that you catch the radio channel pumping Christmas tunes. My kids are not as young as they once were but it didn't stop me from getting out there to gawk. Before December is over we will return to try the garden in daylight hours, perhaps for Brunch with Santa next Saturday.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsville Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Huntsville Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntsville Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.