We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this botanical garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntsville Botanical Garden

Huntsville Botanical Garden
4747 Bob Wallace Ave, Huntsville, AL 35805
256-830-4447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 attractions in Huntsville
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Love this botanical garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have been numerous times to the Huntsville Botanical Garden with my mother and my two twin boys. We love it! We enjoyed the tree house exhibits and the Easter event. We have been in all seasons and I think Fall or Spring is the best time to go. It gets hot there in Summer and there is a lot of walking to do because the place is spread out. One time when we went there in Summer we about got heat stroke! But the gardens are beautiful. The treehouses are fun. The children's garden is very fun for kids and very whimsical. The Easter event we attended was fun. I think the whole place is a great experience. We also love doing the drive through Christmas light display every Dec. It has become a tradition. I come all the way from Chatt Tn to and my mother comes from Valley Head, Al to attend this botanical garden. We also enjoy the scarecrows and hale bale art and hay rides in Fall when we go.

They have a small one train garden railway that operates in every season but Winter. My boys LOVE it.

Tips: Bring lots of water if you go in hot weather! Bring a wagon or good jogging stroller if you have young kids because the place is very spread out and does not always have paved walkways through certain parts of it. They have some wagons you can borrow too to drive your kids in. I recommend this Botanical Garden as a great activity for kids. We have a membership and get in free to other botanical gardens too and get discounts to the special events.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gets Better Every Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have been a long time member of the HBG and it truly gets better every year. I understand some of the one time visitors' comments about it being pricey but an annual membership for those that live in this area is one of the best buys around. From the spring time Butterfly House, to the Summer time water features, to the autumn Scarecrow trail culminating with a Holiday Galaxy of lights that gets bigger every year you cannot beat it. The Garden does a good job of fund raising and plowing revenues back into the Garden.

We also enjoy the special concerts and events like the Raptors that the Garden has each year.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“High priced but you can see where the money is being invested! I'm happy to pay because we are never dissatisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Totally worth it. Be sure to not skip this place. The treehouses are amazing, christmas lights are cute and butterfly house is extraordinary! I could visit 60 tines in a year and never tire of visiting this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The botanical gardens is fairly nice. The butterfly house is great. Some of the grounds could use some maintenance. The staff is very friendly. I enjoyed it, but not for the expensive admission.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Summer visit had some highlights, but overall just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We visited the Botanical Gardens to see the Tree house exhibit and the Children's Garden. It was incredibly hot the day we visited, so please keep that in mind as you read our review. As usual, the Children's Garden was nice, although definitely geared toward very young children (under six years old). There were a few water activities that were greatly appreciated (giant watering can that sprays water, little pond, pond with fountains). The butterfly garden was also interesting--you can put sugar water on your arm to entice a butterfly to land on you (one landed on my daughter and she was so excited!) and there are turtles to watch.

The overall gardens are just okay. The gardens are huge, so expect a lot of walking, which may or may not work well for young children. Our biggest complaint about the day was the poorly done maps and signage in the garden--it was very difficult to follow the map and find your way around. Not all of the pathways are marked on the map, and others look much bigger than they are---lots of confusion.

The tree houses were also just okay. Some of them were beautiful and creative and fun for the kids to explore, and others were pretty lame. More water elements were definitely needed for the summer!!! The water element was broken on one tree house (which we found out after calling the office from our phone), and the description of another one (Bird's Eye View) made it seem like it would have water, but did not. The fairy and garden gnome tree houses were definitely our favorites--very creative and fun.

Overall, the gardens were okay. Pros: beautiful flowers and trees to look at, Children's Garden water activities, great gift shop, butterfly house. Cons: not enough water elements overall, broken/disappointing tree houses, and terrible maps.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsville Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Huntsville Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntsville Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huntsville Botanical Garden to your Saves list