We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Weekly Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
6000 Memorial Parkway Southwest, Huntsville, AL 35802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My Weekly Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I travel to Huntsville every Monday - Thursday for work and the Doubletree is my home away from home. It is newly renovated so everything is fresh and modern with a classy/comforting flair. The staff is absolutely AMAZING and they do everything they can to make sure your stay is awesome! Kristina at the front desk in the evenings is one of my favorite people in the entire state of Alabama and absolutely ANYTHING you need she will be sure you have. Literally it brightens my day to walk in from work in the evenings and talk to her. I also met Joshua last night when I visited the front desk with quite a number of requests and he took care of my every need. He was so kind and so good at making sure that every guest in the hotel was taken care of. The restaurant: Cafe Alana Shay is a James Boyce restaurant (whom I definitely consider one of Huntsville's premier chef's) and the food is AWESOME! From the warm spinach salad to the duck confit spring rolls, everything is delicious. Overall I keep coming back to this property, even after spending 4 months at the Embassy Suites. I love it, they are great!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Our DoubleTree Suites Huntsville-South family would like to graciously acknowledge your wonderful review. We could of not ask for a more sincere review and we are grateful. As part of our family we will continue to serve you and ensure every need is taken care of. We can not wait to have you with us again!

Sincerely,

Jesse Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    55
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
55
20
10
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree last month over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and came with a number of conveniences: refrigerator, coffee maker (with good coffee) and a microwave. The fitness center was well equipped and clean. The breakfast was adequate (buffet needed refilled) but that wasn't a big concern. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. Our staff is dedicated to serving our guests and we are so pleased they met your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business for several weeks. You can tell that they have recently renovated. Great decorating except for a few wacky carpet patterns. Beautiful restaurant with an average, yet extensive,breakfast. Pool was still open despite cold. Looked like it would be great in warmer weather. Housekeeping very friendly. The room I was staying in was near an outside speaker that was playing jazz late at night. I called the front desk and informed them. It was handled perfectly by Josh and taken care of Immediately!! Overall experience excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
On behalf of the DoubleTree By Hilton Huntsville-South we are very pleased for your wonderful review. Knowing that we met / exceeded your expectations during your stay, once again validates why we are in the profession of hospitality! I will pass on the kinds words to Josh, who is one of our top front desk agents. If ever your travels bring you to Huntsville again, please do not forget about your friends here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed in several Doubletree hotels and this one is definitely my favorite. It is very inviting from the outside and very contemporary and trendy inside. I'm not sure if this is a new hotel or an older one that had been renovated, but I absolutely adore the decor of the entire place. The colors of the furniture, cushions, and even the walls are very invigorating.
I ordered room service from the hotel restaurant, Café Alana Shay, and the food was amazing!! I ordered the roasted chicken that came with succotash and kale. The chicken was roasted to perfection and the skin was perfectly salted and crispy. I'm a huge fan of crispy chicken skin so I was very excited to find that it was cooked perfectly.
The staff was very inviting and helpful. The business center was set up very nicely with 3 very large screened computers and a printer.
I go to Huntsville a few times a year so I plan on staying here every single time!
Very well done, Hilton!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip.

Exterior does not do the facility any justice. My first impression was...really? However, the lobby is very "modern" and the rooms are just as nice. It appears that the facility was undergoing a facelift, so maybe the exterior will catch up to the interior soon.

The one thing I could not relate to, was the 2hr limit on the free WiFi service, otherwise you had to pay $9.99 each day. Almost a "bait & switch" technique to make you think they have free Wifi. Not so bad if they also provided a hard line ethernet connection as an alternate.

Overall...nice, but with internet connectivity important in my business, I wold most likely find another facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Have never stayed at this property before, but it's going to be my choice from now on. Newly renovated, the rooms are great. Big, suite style room, with two big flatscreens. The walk-in shower was great, too. Food was pretty good as well. Staff was excellent in all areas. I don't see how you can top this place without paying twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just stayed for one night on our way to Florida. The hotel is clean and the staff was friendly. However, the bed was awful and the air woke us up every time it came on (which was a lot). Left not feeling rested.

The only other issue I had is when I booked the room the website said it had a heated indoor pool. The hotel does not have this. There was an outdoor pool and a hot tub that was freezing. I checked their website before writing this review and they still advertise a heated indoor pool. Kids were disappointed.

From their website:

Highlights

Located just off Memorial Parkway
Heated indoor pool
Over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space
24-hour fitness center
Great food at Café Alana Shay

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South

Address: 6000 Memorial Parkway Southwest, Huntsville, AL 35802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Huntsville, AL hotel is located just off Memorial Parkway South, close to Redstone Arsenal as well as restaurants, shops and popular attractions. The DoubleTree Suites Huntsville South offers many amenities including our spacious two-room suites with private living area and sofa bed, large outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and our convenient on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.