We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Food was average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's American Table - CLOSED

Mama's American Table
1009 Memorial Parkway, Huntsville, AL 35801
(256)715-7895
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Middle Tennessee
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Service and Food was average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an early dinner at Mama's on a Saturday using a Groupon. The food was ok and the service was average but there were only a few people in the restaurant. There were dirty glasses left on the bar, as if they hadn't been cleaned up from the night before. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch and dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I ate there one day during the week with a friend and had to return on a Sunday with my hubby after bragging about it to him...I'm so glad it was good both times as my hubby would not have been happy if it wasn't. For lunch I had the "Tex Mex chicken salad"..it was fresh..with plenty of vegetables. great spicy ranch dressing and a nice baked roll.. for dinner I ordered meatloaf and had a hard time deciding my side as the choices were so vast and a great variety as well. The meatloaf was enough for two..my hubby had Chicken fried chicken"....he raved about it and his sides were good also. The cornbread was so delicious it was like a dessert..Can't wait to go again!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices and Better Than Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Service was attentive and competent; however, the restaurant was decidedly not busy. Food was well prepared and promptly served. Menu is varied and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go visit soon--won't last another year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Huntsville has a ton of restaurants, and there is fierce competition. My wife and I got a "Groupon" to use worth $20 and decided to try this place out. The location is fine and fairly easy to get to. It's a decent sized place, too. We went in and found a fairly extensive menu, everything from Italian to salads to seafood and American fare. My wife got the filet, and I got the chicken enchiladas. The filet was OK but the enchiladas (their specialty, according to the menu) was not good Mexican at all. The service was below average--the gal that waited on us looked and sounded like a zombie, and was rarely around when we needed her (drink refill please!). We can't say it was bad, we can just say it wasn't memorable and we won't return. The place was less than half-filled when we left, and I predict it will be out of business within 12 months. Great idea, but we can get much better in this town. Sorry fellas, just average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Talk about good solid down-home cooking....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I'd heard mixed reviews on this place. So I've tried it out - - twice. Once, I had the brisket dinner and my companion had the chicken fried chicken. Both entrees were excellent to outstanding. Both of us took enough food home for lunch the next day! I recommend the creamed corn as a side dish! So, I mentioned it at work, and was surprised to hear that some people thought their menu was TOO extensive. Went back with a different companion. This time, I had the porkchop with apples and cherries; she had the lasagna. I thought the porkchop was outstanding; she thought the tomato sauce was really good pizza sauce, but needed more oregano etc. for a really outstanding lasagna. Again, large portions for very reasonable prices. And, no wait to be seated on a Saturday night!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's American Table also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's American Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.