We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not for families with small children.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commerce Kitchen

Commerce Kitchen
300 Franklin St., Huntsville, AL 35801
+1 256-382-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 513 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Huntsville, Commerce Kitchen serves Southern Gourmet cuisine in a bluesy bistro setting.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, not for families with small children.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As soon as my husband, me and our 3 young children walked in I felt unwelcome. They have a kids menu ($10 per kids meal), but they seem to not really wants the kids there. We stayed and ate, and the food was good, but I have never felt as uncomfortable and unwelcome before in my life.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    34
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sometimes even the best have an Off Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Commerce Kitchen is one of our favorite restaurants in Huntsville and this was the main reason my wife and I decided to celebrate or Anniversary dining there last night. As usual we received great service but the food was a bit below standards. My wife ordered the Blackened Gulf Mahi Mahi with country grits and squash. Her exact words were that the fish was like chewing taffey and the squash was tasteless. Very unusual for this restaurant. I ordered the 14oz Ribeye (medium rare) but it arrived Medium Well. I also ordered the grilled onions on the top of my steak, but the onions arrived thinly cut and raw. This one negative experience won’t change our opinion of Commerce Kitchen, but it does go to show that even the best can have an off night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison AL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant...Top notch food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped at this restaurant with my mom because we had heard great things about it. Walked in around 11:15 a.m. and were seated immediately. Our server came right to our table to get our drink order. My mom and I looked over the menu and decided on the Tilapia with Squash and grits (i think) and the Shrimp and Parmesan Cheese Grits. The entrees were out within 10-12 minutes and they were FABULOUS! The Tilapia was probably the best I've ever tasted and the Shrimp was fresh, tender and delicious. They were only $13 each and for the quality, WELL worth the price. On a side note, I did notice the family sitting next to us with small children were given "kids menus" so if you have your children with you, they can accomodate you! This restaurant is well worth the trip to downtown Huntsville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Diner at CK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Service was excellent. We were a party of four. When our friends called for a reservations they were already full, but they took their number in case of a cancellation. The did call and got us in when we wanted. Seated immediately upon arrival. The menu covers a lot of tastes, but is not large in scope. All food was excellently prepared and presented. Each couple split an excellent spinach salad. We ordered three entrees off the menu plus the night's special. We added an excellent bottle of wine to that. The total was $158.76 including tax, but excluding the 20% tip. This is the third time we have eaten there, and each meal was great. We will return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“You Wouldn't Guess.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Exceptional food... a bit pricey, but worth it. For that special dinner or occasion. Downtown is a great place to be for dinner or lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commerce Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Commerce Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commerce Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.