We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commerce Kitchen

Commerce Kitchen
300 Franklin St., Huntsville, AL 35801
+1 256-382-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 492 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Huntsville, Commerce Kitchen serves Southern Gourmet cuisine in a bluesy bistro setting.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We moved to Huntsville, AL last summer and were looking for a few good places to eat. It wasn't long before someone told my wife that we needed to try the Commerce Kitchen. The first time was for lunch. It was rather crowded with local businessmen meeting for lunch. We didn’t have to wait long and had a wonderful lunch. We both had the Shrimp and Grits, a well know specialty there in the Commerce Kitchen. It was excellent and so was the service. The next time we ate there it was for dinner. I ordered the Rib-eye steak. It was served with a salad and garlic mashed potatoes. Let me tell you that, it was the best rib-eye steak that I have eaten on over ten years. Great flavor and cooked just right. We cannot wait to get back there. Great service and excellent food. You cannot go wrong at the Commerce Kitchen.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Go There Once - and Find Your New Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Intersting cocktail and meal innovations. Excellent service. Welcoming staff. No complaints. Valet parking available.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little find...great food...great service. It's a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was looking for a nice restaurant to take a client and stumbled across Commerce Kitchen in downtown Huntsville. We were greeted as if we were long time customers. The wine selection was good and the menu was simple and very appealing. I had the shrimp and grits which were outstanding and my guest had the fried chicken which was also very good. The carrot cake is to die for. Don’t leave without desert.All in all a great experience and I will go back on my next visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
166 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Affordable gourmet on the square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Modern interior enlivens this narrow downtown space. I sat at the bar where the server was friendly & efficient. Wonderful spinach salad w/ bacon & fried egg. The fish special was quite a bit too busy, w/ a veritable gumbo piled on top of the seared fish, when only a creamy creole sauce was mentioned. Likely due to the extra seafood, the price was much more than similar items on the menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than it's sister restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

After an expensive but mediocre meal at The Cotton Row, Commerce Kitchen's sister restaurant, we were hesitant to try The Commerce Kitchen but decided to go anyway and were rewarded with a very good meal. Three of us all had different meals, salmon, the striped bass special and the Kobe burger. All were well prepared and served promptly and efficiently. The decor is very nice, a clean lined classic southern style. The restaurant is quite small and was very busy. We arrived early for our 6:00 PM reservation and were seated promptly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commerce Kitchen also viewed

 
Huntsville, AL
 

Been to Commerce Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commerce Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.