We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#2 'Best Sunday Brunch'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1892 East

1892 East
720 Pratt Avenue, Huntsville, AL 35801
256-489-1242
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 485 restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“#2 'Best Sunday Brunch'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Valley Planet survey ranked 1892 East as 2nd 'Best Sunday Brunch.' Also, 1st 'Best Lunch,' 1st 'Best Restaurant for Vegetarians,' 3rd 'Best Desserts,' 3rd 'Best Chef in the Valley' (Steve Bunner), and 3rd 'Best Restaurant Overall.'

My wife and I came here around noon for a Sunday brunch. We were seated immediately, even though we had not made a reservation.

My wife ordered the Southern Breakfast Plate. I ordered the Southern Benedict. This is two poached eggs, bacon, and gravy served on a big biscuit. :-) I ordered coffee, and my wife ordered decaf. It is worth ordering coffee here just to try the french press decanters that brew your coffee at your table. Brunch was excellent. Our total bill for these two brunches was about $36. That's kind of pricey, but everything was nicely upscale so we got what we paid for. We left full and happy.

Our server, a friendly young lady named Lindy ("like the 'Lindy Hop'"), took very good care of us. When we asked the origin of the restaurant's name, she clued us in that this area of town was originally surveyed in 1892 as the East Huntsville Addition, before it became known as Five Points. A link to info on this historic district is at http://fivepointshistoricdistrict.org/index.html

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    22
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW! Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was in Huntsville for business and picked 1892 East for one of my dinners. It is located in the Five Points neighborhood, not too far from downtown. The interior was clean and crisp, without a lot of noise. They had a good selection of draft beers from AL and GA brewers. I ordered the pork shank entree and it was...Wow! The flavors in the dish were smooth and creamy with chunks of melt in your mouth pork and smooth sweet potato puree. I was dreading the final bite since it meant I was done. I also ordered apple crisp for dessert and it was really good. Both dishes could be shared, but you'll want the whole pork shank dish for yourself. If I come back to Huntsville, I'll go back to 1892 East to try something else. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I eat at 1892 East quite often. The food is quite good with unique combinations. The staff is knowledable and friendly. Atmosphere upscale without being overly snooty. Great choice of beers. I enjoy the extremely fresh taste of locally grown items. Excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A missing link in Huntsville restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would have to go to Atlanta to find a comparable restaurant of this kind. Now we have a great place right at Five Points.

The use of local produce enhances the quality of the meals. The staff shows great innovation when incorporating our local foods into the menu items. (Be sure to go during peach season.)

It is nice and comfortable with good service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this restaurant to entertain friends and we were NOT disappointed. The menu was original - and fabulous. Plus, the meals and wine were reasonably priced. All at our table enjoyed their meals - fresh food, fine atmosphere, excellent service. I highly recommend this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1892 East also viewed

 

Been to 1892 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1892 East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.