We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoppers Dream Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Huntsville to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shoppers Dream Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time that we stayed in one of the 'suite' hotels. Candlewood was a good choice - -lots of freebies (DVDs & books on loan to guests; free computer access (we usually have to pay a fee to use the computers in a hotel's business center)); and an inhouse store/snack bar (get this) - - made available on the 'honor system' !! Room was well supplied; clean and spacious - - my husband loved being able to spread out his 'work" on the ample desk. We were w/i 10 minutes of 3 malls/shopping/restaurant areas! Something for everyone!!

Room Tip: Make your preferences known to the staff - - they are super customer-oriented!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
9
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like the Holiday Inn brand, and Candlewood Suites is in that group. Before I reserved it I called and asked about the linens - if they were the triple sheeted washed every time kind - can't stand the mystery colored bedspread type hotels - anyway, I was told to ask for a white linen or white room when I called the 800 reservation number, so I did that. The room was really clean and spacious and had a kitchen -all for a great price. One downside - the hall and elevator carpets are pretty bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a white linen or white room - those are the rooms with the triple sheeted white sheets encas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights & it wasn't bad, rooms were nice & spacious however the front desk clerk was always away & gone for 10-15 minutes at a time. When they were there though they were very friendly.
My water went out on the first day while I was brushing my teeth so I wasn't able to shower, it took them all day to fix it, the next two days no problem. I was disappointed they didn't try to make up for the water going out. Considering how nice the room was I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Idontwantaaccount,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very good to know that you found the rooms nice. on the other hand, we are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff and the over the water issue. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel located off the beaten path 100 yards from a railroad tracks with trains running several times during the day and night. During my two night stay I received no housekeeping service. The bathroom was not cleaned, I had to take dirty towels to front desk to get clean ones, The carpet in the elevator and hallway is so stained and soiled it looked unsanitary.Guest must empty their trash daily in big trash cans located in the hallway. Also guest are charged a daily security deposit and before you leave, the room is checked to see if pillows, towels dishware etc have not been removed by the guest The staff says that these are coporate policies and the hotel is designed for long term guest stays. Due to no daily housekeeping service and location right near the train track I would never stay here again.Although the room was decent I don't see how they can maintain basic sanitation standards,

Room Tip: Hallway on third floor is very hot, but the room did have sufficient AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Travler D,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were planning on camping at Monte Sano State park for the 4th weekend and visiting the Space and Rocket center. The weather had other plans. So, at the last minute I had to reserve a room. I was a little worried. But, my worrying was a waste of time. The place was wonderful and I highly recommend them. The staff was very welcoming on our arrival and friendly throughout the stay. The room was large with a comfy sofa bed for the kids and a private room for hubby and I when Nicktoons were just to much. The bathroom was large, very clean and the water was good and HOT!! The room décor appeared to be recently renovated. The kitchen had full fridge, stove and microwave. The suites are perfect if you are traveling with children as they can have their area and you can have yours. Love it here and was very surprised about how nice and clean it was. The staff was really great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had never heard of Candlewood Suites before staying here, but now I recommend them highly. We needed a place to stay with our 2 large dogs for three weeks. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The kitchen is stocked with most of the basic equipment, and you can ask at the front desk to borrow toaster ovens, blenders, etc. They have a small grocery "cupboard" that operates on the honor system, and complimentary washers and dryers. Housekeeping comes in once a week, and are glad to notify you ahead of time if you wish to take your pets out during the cleaning. Internet speed is reasonably fast. They are very welcoming to pets; they even gave our dogs small treat goody bags at check-in. In the future, I will always choose to stay at Candlewood Suites when available.

Room Tip: Has 3 floors, so request a lower floor if you have pets to take in and out. Can sometimes hear heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting friends in nearby Madison, this is set in a nice quiet area, with excellent suites all fully equipped, the staff were friendly and helpful and were always willing to suggest attractions to visit. I visit the Space Station just under a mile away and found it very informative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Address: 201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.