We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Huntsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting friends in nearby Madison, this is set in a nice quiet area, with excellent suites all fully equipped, the staff were friendly and helpful and were always willing to suggest attractions to visit. I visit the Space Station just under a mile away and found it very informative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
8
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent 10 nights here. Let me say that I travel for business combined with pleasure, I stay in hotels almost every week for 2-4 nights or more across the S.E. so I have experienced the good, the bad & the ugly & I am picky within reason (hate dirt, mold & or stench). The room was clean with microwave, coffeepot, full size refrigerator, stove and (very) basic utensils, pans toaster etc so you can cook your meals if you so desire. This is a suite hotel which means you get more amenities for less$, but you do not get daily room service, you get room service once a week (if you want clean sheets, towels etc they will gladly give to you at the front desk). Because it has a mini kitchenette they do not serve breakfast.. The hotel was fairly clean and well appointed, There is a laundry room & an exercise room. Comfortable beds, WIFI and TV where so-so. The staff is friendly. This is an older property I say it is 2 stars at most. But if price matters it could be your spot. I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear traveling_frank,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.

It was real pleasure to learn that you weer satisfied with the amenities and services that we have to offer. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stay here each time I'm in Huntsville. I did make the mistake of trying out another property the on my last visit; I'll be at the Candlewood next time.

I've never found my room to be dirty; the staff is always friendly. I enjoy being able to cook in my suite and have used the outdoor gas grill as well.

If I have any issues, it's with the maid service not coming daily. The front desk cheerfully provides clean linens on request if you want to come get them.

It's a good home away from home for those of us who travel frequently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Candlewood in Huntsville Alabama In August 2012. The hotel looked nice from outside but was not inside. The room was dumpy with cheap looking furniture. The water out of the faucets was brown. The hotel told me when I complained that they were working on the lines. I would have liked to have been told about that at check in. The hotel gym had token equipment and was too hot. The only positives were the bed was comfortable and the AC worked well.

Room Tip: Skip this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Run26miles,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. I am delighted to know you found our hotel exterior commendable. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. However, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with the room accommodations and condition of the water. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

First the pluses: the Candlewood Suites Huntsville is in a great location, with easy highway access and close to a nice mall for shopping and dining. The US Space and Rocket Center is also just down the road. 1 bedroom suites are extra spacious and include a full kitchen and a huge dining/work table. The guest laundry is free of charge (detergent is $1 per load) and a welcome feature for families on the road.

Now the negatives: the property is pretty old and it shows in the room decor and general run-down feel. The hallways and the combined laundry/snack shop/exercise room/business center room are unbearably hot. During our stay, there was a leaking pipe that dripped water into the laundry room; this probably caused the fire alarm to go off randomly several times during the night, forcing confused guests into the hallway and the flustered front desk attendant to field lots of phone calls. Finally, our second floor room had a very poorly constructed floor that amplified every footstep, such that anything other than a tiptoe would come across as a loud "thump" in the room below and caused a complaint to the front desk from the guests below.

The price is right ($70 per night but breakfast not included) for such a spacious room but I would shop around for a more modern hotel next time in the Huntsville area.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor room unless you want a call from the front desk complaining about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear gwwyjjliu,

Thank you for giving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us. I deeply apologize your stay was negatively affected by the hotel decor, unusual temperature of the facilities, condition of the room and fire alarm. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We value the opinion of our guests as this gives us the avenue to improve the quality and service that we impart. We would like to have the chance to host your next stay in Huntsville to show you our progress.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We flew into Huntsville on Sat. and out on Sunday and just needed a comfortable bed, clean bath and quiet surroundings near 565 for a good night’s sleep. Candlewood was exactly that and the price couldn’t be beat. We didn’t need the kitchen facilities, but since we had a microwave we popped the popcorn left for us and went downstairs and bought another bag. We didn’t watch much TV, but it was a nice flat screen with all the normal channels. If we’re passing through Huntsville again, we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This property was wonderful. The staff (Brenda and Mrs Myles) were exceptional in helping us get around the city. We had the same experience at Candlewood in Murfreesboro. I highly recommend Candlewood Suites where ever you go!!

It was kinda funny - while we were there, there was a show call "Hotel Impossible" that came on. It is about a man who goes to hotels that are in trouble and tries to get them back on track.

When he started looking at the cabinets, looking under the beds, and at the fridge, my husband started to do the same thing in our room!! Again, my favorite CANDLEWOOD Suites passed the test! Even the top of the cabinets were dust free!

If you find one in another city, that doesn't meet your expectations, let me know!!

Thank you Candewood Staff!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Address: 201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.