We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4890 University Dr Northwest, Huntsville, AL 35816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I recently stayed at this LaQuinta with a group of students coming to Alabama to repair and refurbish sub standard homes after the tornados. The rooms themselves were adequate for our needs. Check in and out was smooth and the front desk staff was more than helpful.
Breakfast was a BIG disappointment. Limited choices, the waffle maker always burnt or stuck the waffles. Vitrually no protein in sight. We like the place but based on that one factor alone I won't be able to bring a student group here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    22
    14
    17
See reviews for
29
12
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

When I checked in, I asked the girl how her day was going and she said "horrible". Not the best way to start our stay. Room was big and clean. Only issue is that we were in a room that was near the hotel entrance, #138. Everytime someone went in or out of the entrance the door SLAMMED. It made such a noise and closed with such force each time that the mirror in our room was knocked sideways. This room is not conducive for sleep. Other than that I would recommend this hotel. Clean, big room, and pet friendly with no fee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I've stayed at this location for almost a month and a half now, and realized its got pros and cons....The house keepers forget to clean my room at least once a week....But its in a good location....The breakfast is free, but who wants bagels and waffles everyday...Its cheap and looks nice, but the parking lot is loaded with street hookers begging for change...For the most part though the staff was friendly and even when I had a problem with my billing the manager was more then willing to help me out...Its worth the money, and its a pretty clean place...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Pros:
- Very friendly and helpful check in staff
- Free parking.
- Fast printer at lobby computer
- Clean rooms.
- Renovated rooms and lobby/breakfast area.
- Very close to Oakwood University (about 2 miles).
- Great breakfast with waffles, cereals, juices, toast, fruits, yogurt, and muffins.
- Older TV but many channels.

Cons:
- Very smoky on the 2nd floor so try to book on the 1st if you want non smoking
- No microwave or refrigerator

Summary:
- Well said by another reviewer: “Partly upgraded and well maintained”

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I booked this hotel thru a discount, pre-paid website (Priceline). It was advertised as a 2 1/2 star hotel. It is really, at best, a 2-star hotel. The location is good as it is near many restaurants and a shopping mall. However, the hotel generally looks old, the rooms look old and aging. I'd not stay here again if I had a choice. I prefer to pay more for a more modern and cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Frequently staying at La Quinta hotels I am not usually a fan of oddly shaped hotels like this property in Huntsville - they tend to look like very old hotels compared to the charming style of other newly built locations. However, after reading through the reviews of the other hotels in Huntsville, I decided to give this one a shot - on the low end of available room prices and at the upper end in more recent reviews, I was at least sceptical, assuming that something had to be wrong here.
Well, immediately after arrival I found myself proven wrong. While there is not really a front desk, it's more like a little closet to the right of the entrance, I quickly found myself in a room that combined old & new world of the La Quinta Franchise. The furniture itself was still the light-brown colored wood of the past LQ styles, while covers and blinds and everything else already appeared in the new red/green color scheme. There was a flatscreen TV, wireless internet, room was nicely cooled and clean. I have almost no complaints - having a room near University Drive, I noticed that the windows lack insulation. I could clearly hear traffic on the roads. Huntsville having a lot of military, people seemed to be getting up early so that the road was only quiet between 10 and 6. Soundproof windows would have been a great advantage here. But other than that I spent a good and restful night.
The property is located immediately on University Drive, Madison Square Mall is just a stone's throw away from the hotel. Driving up and down University Drive you can find a wide selection of full-service and fast food restaurants, all attractions and points of interest are within realistic driving distance.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a stay, at least for a night. It was quiet enough to get rest and yet central enough not to lack any amenities.
The only thing I didn't get after having stayed: how can Huntsville have so many La Quinta properties of so varying standards within close proximity - be careful and do not pick the wrong one...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My hotel room was very clean, spacious, and decorated very nice. The decor was very modern. The shower had very good water pressure and there was plenty of hot water. There is a pool and fitness room available. All staff I encountered were very nice. There is a free breakfast available but I were to stay again I would go to the Waffle House next door.... The hotel is in a nice area with a lot of shopping, restaurants, and the Huntsville Space Center close by.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square

Address: 4890 University Dr Northwest, Huntsville, AL 35816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Huntsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Madison Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.