We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whether you're a local or just visiting; it's the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville's Gourmet Ribs and Barbeque

Granville's Gourmet Ribs and Barbeque
4420 University Drive, corner of Oakwood and Meridian, Huntsville, AL
256-585-3550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 509 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Championship BBQ smoked on site
Restaurant details
Description: Championship BBQ smoked on site
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whether you're a local or just visiting; it's the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a great experience! Conveniently located for residents of northeast Huntsville on Oakwood Ave.The barbeque is terrific, especially the ribs - none better. Two of the sides are really special too. The oven baked potato salad is great, and the green beans are fantastic -I haven't eaten beans as good since my Aunt Bessie died many years ago.

The restaurant is small and informal. The atmosphere and great staff provide a good, at home feeling to go along with the wonderful food and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ribs: The Final Frontier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Having visited the NASA museum up the road we wanted Alabama ribs that were out of this world. Enter Granville's, the final frontier. Yeah the interior isn't The Ritz but we got a warm welcome and the staff, gracious and friendly throughout, were patient as we chose from the menu at the counter. The generous large ribs came with 2 sides and were served dry with sweet and vinegar sauces on the table. The ribs were awesome with either sauce and had a satisfying bite without being at all chewy. The potato salad was delicious. I would strongly recommend Granville's and have four final words - banana pudding: do it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Marvelous Pork BBQ Sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I each ordered a Pork Sandwich with French Fries off their $5 menu. The pork barbecue sandwich was excellent. Or, as my wife said, "Marvelous." It came with a fork. It may have been the best BBQ sandwich I've ever had. It came with perhaps a triple serving of smoked pulled pork. I asked for vinegar slaw on it, and the slaw was excellent also. It also came with a couple of dill pickle slices. I used the fork to pry it up off the plate so I could pick it up without tearing the soft bun, and finished up using the fork to eat whatever slaw had fallen out. The fries were very good, hot crinkle fries that were thicker than average. This way they were crisp on the outside, and softer inside. All Granville's meats are slow smoked. I'll be wanting to go back to try their chicken or ribs. This restaurant is on the southeast corner of Oakwood Avenue and Meridian. We went about 1:00 on a Thursday, and there was plenty of seating. If you like BBQ, you'll want to check this place out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

WOW great ribs, once again impressed with the small mom&pop place, when the cook maybe the owner comes to your table to make sure everything is good thatshows me he's serious about his food. This will be in my top 2 out of 7 while traviling through the south

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Read on line review of this place and gave it a try. On a two night stay in Huntsville for a wedding. Family Ordered Ribs and the brisket sandwhich. The ribs were so good. The rub on them was great. sweet with more of a brown sugar base. One of us got a couple of pieces with more of the smoked bark on it and they were a little tough. Good sides of Potato salad and mac & cheese. Though I thought the elbow pasta was a little mushy. Cook maybe the owner came to our table to say hi and wondered how we heard about his place. He was friendly as we didn't seem like locals. Maybe Chicagons stand out. Do recomend for the flavorful meaty ribs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granville's Gourmet Ribs and Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Granville's Gourmet Ribs and Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville's Gourmet Ribs and Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.