We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Constellation Place Drive SW, Huntsville, AL 35801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Basically this is a new, very clean, modern SpringHill Suites. Nothing much to complain about except the awful see through doors that Marriott seems to be going to. It's pretty much impossible to sleep while your spouse is taking a shower because the bathroom doors let all the light into the room. We spent the night here during a road trip so it was fine, but I definitely wouldn't say here much longer because of the sleep issue. Front desk was very friendly and even greeted me by name when I walked in. I do like how much room you have to spread out, although I can see the modern decor being very dated in the coming years.

Room Tip: There is some highway noise on the highway side if that kind of thing bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    58
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
56
26
9
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The suites and public areas of this hotel are comparable to those at the Embassy Suites but priced better. Make a point to visit the firepit area in the front to relax at night.

The breakfast is fairly good and the walk to the Big Spring park is only 1/2 mile.

I came for the marathon and will stay here again for future events.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here to visit family... the front desk was very accommodating, the hotel is in that European two room bath style that I don't really like, but the hotel was very new and up to what is expected... so you know there is nothing surrounding this hotel as it sits in the middle of a big field right outside the downtown area. It is next to downtown, so you can walk, but some of the pubs are at the other side of town and would probably motor over there... there is a park next to the Embassy Suites which is about 2 blocks away (Ruth's Chris is there and we stopped for drinks)... otherwise it is a good hotel, nothing wrong - just don't expect a Marriott... and they do have breakfast... what they do to the scrambled eggs is beyond me... appears to be standard at Springhill and some of other hotels... chop them up so fine they are dry, don't taste like eggs and need a spoon to pick them up to eat. Someone at Marriott needs to check out the SOP for breakfast (the Marriott in Nashville had them right)...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've stayed at quite a few hotels racking up over 700 hotel nights in the last 7 years. This hotel has one of the best room layouts that I have seen. The beds are very comfortable. The toilet is far back in the bathroom so if you've got a funky one, the smell doesn't escape to the rest of the room. The tv is positioned so you can see it from either the desk or the bed. Too many hotels position the desk with the tv to the back of the person sitting or immediately next to the desk so its hard to see. There are sufficient electrical outlets and rooms even come with small refrigerators. The only flaw is that in order to use the outlets on the desk, the desk light has to be on. The desk has a semi-transparent sliding door and so the light shines through to the bed. There is no way to turn the light off without turning off the outlets. That means no charging your laptop or phone on the desk. On the flip side, there are outlets everywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed one night at this Springhill Suites. This was the first time I have stayed at a Springhill Suites, but won't be my last.

The hotel is newer and in excellent shape, both inside and out. The lobby is open and there is a market area to buy snacks. There is plenty of seating in the breakfast area and breakfast was good with "real" scrambled eggs and other options.

The rooms are nice with a small sitting area, large flat screen tv, desk, and the shower and toilet are in separate small rooms. The bed was comfortable. There are a microwave and refridgerator (with a snooze feature that turns it off for 8 hours).

My only complaint was that my GPS (newer and updated) could not find the address to the hotel and so I had to do some driving around to find it. I wish hotels would put their GPS coordinates on their website. In case you need it, the coordinates for this hotel are: 34.724556, -86.593975.

The only other thing to consider is that there are not very many restaurants close by.

I would recommend this Springhill Suites if you need to stay near downtown Huntsville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Highway 231 so that you won't hear so much traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there in mid October. We were at the Sleep Inn the night before. The property still looked fairly new on the outside. The lobby looked good and front desk service was good also. The elevators were located a short distance from the front lobby, and as I headed toward them there was a definite odor in the air. We went pass the food service area but the odor wasn't food or cigarette smoke just noticeable, almost like machinery that had overheated and not pleasant. Our room was next to the laundry area and conversations in that area and even in the hallway was noticeable even though those talking were not yelling at each other. The room layout was great, however........it also had a noticeable (slight hint of smoke) odor. The bed was noisy. It sounded almost like the bedding material on the mattress was having issues with the bedding material on the box spring frame or something like that. The bathroom layout was unique but not functional enough for me. First there were no hand rails at all in the shower (and I will add it was the same at the Sleep Inn the night before). The toilet was in a separated area from the wash basin, and there was not enough places to hang up wet towels. The place really looked good but as they say sometimes, beauty is only skin deep :(...... (yea, yea, yea)

Room Tip: Don't get close to the laundry room (unless you have some ear plugs), bring some air freshener a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time to stay at a Springhill Suites. On business. New hotel close to the downtown area. Close to interstate. Nice rooms and a hot typical breakfast. Hotel has a small bar and outdoor fire pit. Room was nice size with free in room WIFI. Marriott has a very good rate for Seniors if they have rooms available.

Room Tip: If you are over 65 check on the senior rates at Marriott Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown

Address: 745 Constellation Place Drive SW, Huntsville, AL 35801
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.