We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison County Nature Trail-Green Mountain

Madison County Nature Trail-Green Mountain
South Shawdee Road, Green Mountain, Huntsville, AL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of my favorite places in Huntsville is The Madison County Nature Trail on Green Mountain. It is a great place to go for a family picnic, a walk around the lake and or just to enjoy nature and take a breather from work.The park is located in south Huntsville.If you haven't been to the Madison County Nature Trail, you'll be pleasantly surprised. The park was the idea of James Record and the Madison County Commission built it 1975. There is a pavilion, plenty of picnic tables, wooden rocking chairs, restrooms, a small chapel, Charles Green's (whom Green Mountain was named after) log cabin, Sky Lake (where only seniors and youth are allowed to fish), and a 2.2 mile walking trail. There is a labeled braille trail to help the blind enjoy the sounds and smells of nature. Recently a senior trail became a new addition to the premises, featuring an easy path close to the pavilion with two benches for resting.If you are wanting a true break from it all and trip back into nature, the Madison County Nature Trail on Green Mountain in Huntsville Alabama is the place for you.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is atop of Green Mountain. You drive in and take a beautiful 2+ mile stroll around a gorgeous lake through the tree's on a lined path, Go through a beautiful wooded bridge. Fall is a beautiful time to visit as you see the gorgeous leaves with all the great colors falling.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a must do when going to Huntsville. So peaceful and beautiful. Trails are well kept. Wish we had brought some bread for the geese. The whole family really enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Hilltop Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoy visiting as many tripadvisor attractions in an area as possible. The Madison County Nature Trail is tucked away atop Green Mountain in Huntsville and was a 30 minute drive from our home in Madison CIty so we decided to run the trail. We expected it to be nice and were surprised to find so many breathtaking scenes. My run was halted on a dozen occasions because I just had to stop and photograph one thing or another that was postcard scenic. Even the parking lot is landscaped and well maintained. You get the impression of reporting for summer camp when you drive through the curved arch. A giant map greets you depicting the major trails and points of interest as you walk in. There are over 2 miles of major trails that are novice friendly and even more for those who like to go off script like I did. Fall is particularly nice and seeing the foliage reflected off the small lake from a pier mounted bench will relax you into serenity. Senior citizens and children are allowed to fish here for a small fee and should have pretty good luck as I saw quite a few during my hour visit. The trail varies from a short gravel stretch to wooden bridges but is predominantly earth. There are some steep inclines and descents but not so much that a beginner couldn't accomplish it. Throughout the trail you will come across a wooden covered bridge, cabin, chapel and streams. My fear of snakes kept me alert but I saw none while I was there. If nature calls during your visit, fear not, there are clean restrooms available at the main pavilion just inside the park. I will certainly return and recommend that all nature loving locals and visitors take an hour or two to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son and I visited the Nature trail this past weekend. It is so beautiful!!! This is a part of Huntsville that I didn't realize was there. Its not a long walk out to the covered bridge which sits beautifully overlooking the lake!! I didn't have a long time to visit but I probably stayed just over an hour. I would recommend spending more time to hike the trails there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good views and good hiking walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We looked online for a good trail to go for a walk and saw this nature trail. We were not disappointed. You arrive on top of the mountain (which allows you to see the great views around you) you find this welcoming park. It has a nice little welcome center, good restroom facilities, nice picnic areas with views of the 17 acre lake and a wonderfully laid out trail system. This is such a picturesque place with benches along the trail to sit and enjoy the views. In the fall, this area would be a "must go to" place. If you are in the Huntsville area, stop by and enjoy a stroll around this little gem of Madison County.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison County Nature Trail-Green Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Madison County Nature Trail-Green Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison County Nature Trail-Green Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.