We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Southern cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shea's Express

Shea's Express
415 Church Street, Suite E 5, Huntsville, AL 35801
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 505 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Cyn Shea's Cafe and Catering, a restaurant located in downtown Huntsville, AL. Cyn Shea's is known for its amazing baked goods (all made in house daily), delicious sandwiches, and original salads. All menu items are prepared after you order, with only the finest ingredients, to create the perfect culinary experience for every customer. At Cyn Shea's Café you will begin "Creating Your Perfect Meal" by choosing from our Shea's Signature Favorites OR Designing Your Own Favorite. First: Choose Soup, Salad, or Sandwich Second: Assemble from a variety of Breads, Proteins, Toppings, & Dressings Third: Add a Side & Beverage. Fourth: Save room for Dessert & Coffee! Need plans for Saturday morning? Why not join us for our Jazz Brunch! Brunch is served each Saturday from 9:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m., with live Jazz musicians playing from 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. RESTAURANT SPACE AVAILABLE FOR PRIVATE EVENTS Monday - Saturday Evenings up to 150 Guests offering amenities like- 106" Projection Screen Fully Equipped Stage & Microphone Free Wi-Fi Fireplaces & Lounge Area Garden Patio Seating Homemade Ice Cream & Specialty Espresso Available PLEASE SPEAK WITH OUR CATERING PLANNER & LET OUR EVENT TEAM HELP CREATE YOUR PERFECT NIGHT!
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Southern cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite lunch place in Huntsville. The food is always good, the people are extremely nice and you know you're welcome when the owner picks up the phone when you call. This is definitely my favorite lunch place in Huntsville.

Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
154 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great little resturant that has atmosphere and good prices for the quality of services and food. i recommend this for a quaint get together. I would go again!

Visited April 2012
Thank RockyTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh, good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I know this restaurant as CynShea's Express. Regardless, it's good. I've eaten lunch there several times and used them to cater an event in summer of 2010. (I was somewhat disappointed in the quality of the catered food, (but not the set up or the staff, which were both awesome!) but that would be better served in a different review). It does get crowded at lunch, so try to arrive right at 11:00 AM during the week. The queue forms in front of a white board on the wall, which lists the menu itmes (or you can pick up a hard copy menu and peruse it), then you order at a 'food tray line' and pay at the end. They call out the orders by name, and sometimes its a bit of a wait before your food is ready. I've never tried Breakfast or Brunch at CynSheas, but have had the following, which is consistently fresh, good and filling, at lunch: Grilled Reuben Sandwich, Cuban Panini and Asian Steak flatbread. Their Mac and Cheese side is super-good. Free refills on their flavored, or non-flavored teas and the desserts always look fresh and delicious, although I've never tried them. Looks like they've really expanded with Specialty Cakes, Wholesale items, Catering and their Sunday Bible Study Ministry. I'd love to try their brunch with jazz and mimosas! I enjoy the option of dining outside on their small-ish, intimate patio, too! Give CynSheas a try! I hope you enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank jewel10430620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a special place. You know it as soon as you walk up and see the garden gates, plants, outdoor seating and fountains. As you enter, it hits you again, this isn't just a restaurant. It is blessed by the Lord. Go see for yourself and be moved. The menu is incredible, and they have coffee, baked goods and a small selection of wine and even champagne! It's a real treasure, for those looking for water in the desert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Jazz brunch on Saturday is my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well I despise jazz in every form but the great food almost makes up for it. The service is fast and I have eaten about half the menu and have enjoyed everything I have tried.

Visited August 2012
1 Thank patthebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shea's Express also viewed

Huntsville, AL

Been to Shea's Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing