We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hildegards German Cuisine

Hildegards German Cuisine
2357 Whitesburg Dr S, Ste C, Huntsville, AL 35801-3844
256-512-9776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 517 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hildegard's German Cuisine features Authentic German Cuisine.Starters,Schnitzels,Sausages,House Specialties,Sandwiches,Seafood,Soups,Salads And Home Made Desserts.Beer And Wine.Patio Dining Available.Reservations Welcome 1-256-512-9776
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great German restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to Hildegards for dinner. Found the good very authentic. Had a liter of dunkel. And brats and Polish kebab to start. Schnitzel was good. The fried potatoes were as authentic Bavarian as you could get the goulash was good. $30 a head for dinner and a liter. No room for desert. After we ate we found out about the sample platters. That would be my next dinner if I weren't leaving.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, Delicious Dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We love the cute bier garden decor, as well as the Polka music playing. I have had several different schnitzel dishes, as well as the kielbasa, and all are outstanding. The creamy cucumber salad is wonderful. The servers are happy to suggest a German beer or wine to accompany your meal. The portions are extremely large, and sides are wonderful. I love the warm German potato salad as well as, of course, saur kraut or cabbage.

Hildegard's is one of our regular restaurants in Huntsville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the best rated "International Restaurant" in town and I was very excited to visit. I like German food and theirs is very good. My tall hefe was so good and so was the Jaegar Schnitzel. It had nice fat, fresh mushrooms and the sauce was perfectly seasoned. Service was excellent by all the servers, and very cheerful! On the other hand, the cheap patio chairs are uncomfortable and difficult to pull up to the table. $84 for 2 kids, 2 adults, 1 app and 1 beer seemed high, considering the cheap "outdoor beer garden" decor and very simple dishes. I hate to say it, but we probably won't go back. Same good food with much better atmosphere at other German restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Solid Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ate at Hildegards last night. The portions are huge and very tasty. Take home boxes for lunch or dinner the next day. I had the pork schnitzel and my wife the combo plate (if you are a meat eater this is the dish for you.). I had the bean soup instead of a salad. A bowl of this soup with bread would be a meal by itself. I much perfered the warm german potato salad than the fried potatos.

The service was outstanding. The only reason I didn't give a 5 was because I have not eaten any German food in many years so had nothing to compare it to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently great German dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A small informal family-run restaurant with a varied ethnic menu, all of it great! Dishes range from Farmer's Breakfast to Sauerbraten. Of course, there several styles of Chicken, Pork and Veal Schnitzel. Their desserts are outstanding. Many imported draft and bottled beers and wine. We have eaten here, at least once a week, for years. Thursday through Saturday, for dinner, its best to make reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hildegards German Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Hildegards German Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hildegards German Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.