We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it yourself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moe's Original Bar B Que

Moe's Original Bar B Que
2030 Cecil Ashburn Drive Suite 109, Huntsville, AL 35802
256-881-1227
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 493 restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Moe's Original Bar B Que features award-winning Bama-style BBQ smoked over white oak and served with two unique sauces along with eight to ten Southern sides and tasty desserts. Moe's location in Huntsville will have four flat screen TVs for sports viewing, a patio with picnic tables, views of the mountains and Jones Valley, not to mention acoustic music on some weekends.
New Market, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do it yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

lots of choices - lots of extras to add to meal; very good portions, nice selection of salsa sauces, excellent prices, friendly . food was good, clean

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    22
    17
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The best thing that i had there was the smoked turkey very tasty, as for the half of chicken and ribs I was not too impressed with the taste.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Uneven but Good Overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate a late lunch at the new Moe's at Providence Village in Huntsville. We had heard lots of good things about Moe's food but had never eaten at any location. Interior was the rustic look that is expected with barbecue food. The menu is posted at the counter and ordering is done here. Items available were also typical of barbecue joints...smoked turkey, smoked chicken wings, pulled pork, etc. Sides also expected...slaw, beans, mac and cheese and banana pudding. They also offer some specials of the day and on this day they were grits casserole and speckled butterbeans.
Our crew ordered a good variety of foods which makes reviewing easy. Two of us had the smoked chicken wings, on recommendation of a friend. The wings were wonderful. They were tender, moist and smoky. Be aware that these are dry wings but they do come with a dipping sauce...not barbecue sauce but something else. It didn't really add anything to the wings, but we felt nothing was needed to enhance their flavor. One member of our party is a nacho aficionado and of course, he had to try Moe's nachos. When they appeared he thought they were on the small side but after finishing them he proclaimed that he was full (although he supplimentated them with 4 chicken wings). He deemed them only "fair" and said he would probably order something else next time. Another friend ordered the pulled pork sandwich. It was tender and flavorful with a rich smoky taste.
Sides sampled (and I do mean sampled because the servings are small but perhaps sufficient considering the amount of meat you get) were mac and cheese, beans, banana pudding, grits casserole and butter beans. Mac and cheese was highly touted. It did have a good flavor and was "real" but it was on the dry side. Perhaps it was moister when freshly made...we ate a late lunch and this may account for the dryness. Beans were good, smoky with lots of meat. Grits casserole was fairly good, cheesy and bacony. Butter beans were much too salty and could not be finished. Banana pudding was decent for restaurant fare. The cornbread which was served with each platter was very good.
Pros are friendly staff, large servings of meats (10 good sized wings per order), good smoky flavor of meats and reasonable prices.
Cons are very uneven and small side orders (dry mac and cheese, overly salty butter beans) hard surface seating only, rather loud music.
Overall the pros outweigh the cons. This isn't destination dining out but if in the neighborhood it is worth a try. We will probably return or may try another location in Bham or Auburn, but Moe's is not on quite the same scale as, say Jim and Nick's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ. Pricey, and a limited in side dish options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had the pulled pork basket. It was all I could ask for. Smallish in size, but I would have eaten that until I felt sick, so it's probably for the best that the sizes weren't huge. One of only a few places that work best with no sauce at all. The meat is perfectly seasoned, served juicy (I was impressed with how tightly the meat was packed on the bun), and is just a great little bite to eat.

I wish they offered a 2-meat, or sampler platter and some more sides. Overall, it is expensive, but worth it. The only other comparable places are a 20-minute or so drive out into the countryside. Which is also nice, but doesn't always work out timewise.

The dining room is large and airy. Some outdoor seating (I think). 4-5 TVs playing sports when I was there and Gratefull Dead XM station on the radio.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ and Very Loud Music/Radio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

BBQ is excellent. Portion size is generous on sandwiches. Side dishes are very good. Relatively pricey BBQ for the area. Staff is young and numerous. Lack of adult supervision is evident. Music volume is excessive, so much so that a normal conversation across the table is difficult. When I left the restaurant, my ears hurt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moe's Original Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moe's Original Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.